Now they are legend – Team Lanson makes hat-trick

julius-baer-beach-polo-world-cup-sylt-2016-award-ceremonyThe winning run of beach polo professionals Thomas Winter and Christian Grimme continues. Defending champion Lanson wins the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt for the third successive time.

This year’s edition was a milestone in the nine-year history of the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt. For the first time eight international teams have fought for the coveted Julius Bär Trophy at the eastern coast of Hörnum, Sylt – more teams than ever before. Crowded audience ranks, enthusiastic polo spectators and despite the weather forecast a bright final Sunday including a fantastic beach atmosphere.

In the final match team Lanson, consisting of Thomas Winter and Christian Grimme, faced Sven Schneider and Eva Brühl of team Schloss Göhrde. As early as the second chukka, Thomas Winter put his team into lead by scoring six goals. He is the best polo player in Germany and currently invincible when playing beach polo. At the beginning of the fourth chukka, team Lanson was in the lead by 7-1. The final score was 8-3 and Thomas Winter as well as Christian Grimme thus became polo legends on Sylt. Three times in a row they have won the trophy as team Lanson. In total, each of the two players has made it five times to the top of the winner’s podium of the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt.

Team Maus Immobilien Sylt (Marc Aberle, Tim Ward) finished up third place by defeating team Team J.J. Darboven (Frank Kirschke, Agustin Krohnhaus) by 7-3. Team König Pilsener (René Kleinlugtenbelt, Patrick Maleitzke) won against team Hörnum & Polo Club Sylt (André Wesemann, Eduardo Anca) by 18-9 and thus was placed fifth. Team Engel & Völkers (Sven Odia, Lukas Sdrenka) came seventh place by beating team Julius Bär (Christian Philipp Völkers, Christopher “Niffy” Winter) by 10-7.

Organiser Kiki Schneider: ‘I am very grateful that the final Sunday was blessed with such fine weather, after we have experienced the first rain shower in the nine-year history of the event on Saturday. The commitment of the local authorities of Sylt and Hörnum is fantastic. Thank you for great support, which makes polo in Hörnum possible. Hörnum is a real jewel. The players are thrilled by the island and the tournament as well. This is why this year eight teams played in the tournament, more teams than ever before.’

For the sixth time Bank Julius Bär Europe AG was the title sponsor of the tournament. Heiko Schlag, Chairman of the board of Julius Baer Europe AG, is delighted with the positive feedback and the sportive level of this year’s event: ‘Beach polo here in Hörnum is a real highlight at Pentecost. We are glad about the great popularity, which the event enjoys among both spectators and players. For the first time eight teams have come to Hörnum, which proofs the important role of the tournament.’ The repeated title sponsoring of Julius Bär emphasizes its commitment to the sport of polo and its location in Germany.

La Martina, the world-famous polo and fashion brand, once again was official supplier in Sylt. Bastian Ammelounx, Country Manager La Martina: ‘For us it is a matter of honour to support both polo tournaments in Sylt as official supplier. We are connected with beach polo in Sylt for years and also represented on the island by a La Martina store. A few years ago the store moved from Kampen to Keitum. The people who love Sylt and who spend their holidays here perfectly match our brand.’ La Martina is the worldwide leading polo lifestyle brand. The Argentine label is present at more than 150 polo tournaments all over the world as official supplier. ‘In the future we will condense this commitment and will focus on the high-class tournaments in the respective countries. La Martina will hold faith with Sylt in the future’, says Ammelounx.


Match for seventh place
Engel & Völkers versus Julius Bär 10-7

Match for fifth place
König Pilsener versus Hörnum & Polo Club Sylt 18-9

Match for third place
J.J. Darboven versus Maus Immobilien Sylt 3-7

Match for first place
Schloss Göhrde versus Lanson 3-8


#1 Polo Team LANSON (+6)
Christian Grimme (+1) GER
Thomas Winter (+5) GER

#2 Polo Team SCHLOSS GÖHRDE (+6)
Eva Brühl (+3) GER
Sven Schneider (+3) GER

Marc Aberle (0) GER
Tim Ward (+4) GB

#4 Polo Team J.J. DARBOVEN (+4)
Frank Kirschke (0) GER
Agustin Kronhaus (+4) ARG

#5 Polo Team KÖNIG PILSENER (+4)
René Kleinlugtenbelt (0) NL
Patrick Maleitzke (+4) GER

#6 Polo Team HÖRNUM & POLO CLUB SYLT (+7)
Andre Wesemann (-0) GER
Eduardo Anca (+7) ARG

#7 Polo Team ENGEL & VÖLKERS (+3)
Sven Odia (0) GER
Lukas Sdrenka (+3) GER

#8 Polo Team JULIUS BÄR (+3)
Christian Philipp Völkers (0) GER
Christopher Winter (+3) GER

Moderator: Jan-Erik Franck GB
Schiedsrichter: Ignacio Llorente ARG

About the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt
During the past years the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt at the eastern coast of Hörnum has become one of the most popular events and a real crowd puller, attracting more than 10,000 spectators. In 2011 Julius Bär assumed the title sponsorship for the first time – and this year the Julius Bär Europe AG with its chairman of the executive board Heiko Schlag is once again in on it.

For further information about the Julius Bär Beach Polo World Cup Sylt please visit

Now they are legend – Team Lanson makes hat-trick

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.