Roaring success for Ellerstina and La Dolfina

In yesterday’s match of the Tortugas Open, Ellerstina defeated their opponent Washington thoroughly by 16-5. Though Washington was in the lead at the end of the second chukka by 3-1, in the third chukka Ellerstina started to take control of the match and finally won by a large margin. Facundo Pieres (10) was the top scorer of the match by scoring eleven goals.

Both teams did not play with their original team line-ups: In team Washington, Tomás García del Río (7) had to replace the injured Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario (8) and Mariano Aguerre (9) played for Ellerstina instead of Pablo Pieres (10), who was suspended for one match.

On Saturday, La Dolfina encountered El Paraíso. La Dolfina dominated the match right from the start and at half time was in the lead by 8-2. In the end the team including polo superstar Adolfo Cambiaso, who scored six goals, won by 15-5.

The 76th edition of the Tortugas Open is the first part of the Argentine Triple Crown and takes place at Tortugas Country Club. The Argentine Triple Crown is a series of the most important tournaments worldwide and consists of the Tortugas Open, Hurlingham Open and Argentine Open.

On Saturday, 8 October La Dolfina will meet La Aguada Las Monjitas at 3.30 pm (local time) in the third and last match of Group A and will try to make it to the final. On Sunday, Ellerstina and Alegría will compete against each other at 4.00 pm (local time) and will fight for the second berth in the final match. The final will be held on Sunday, 15 October at 3.30 pm (local time).

The schedule:

Saturday, 8 October
Zone A – 3.30 pm – La Dolfina vs. La Aguada Las Monjitas

Sunday, 9 October
Zone B – 4.00 pm – Ellerstina vs. Alegría

Saturday, 15 October
Final – 3.30 pm – Winner Zone A vs. Winner Zone B


Zone A
La Dolfina (40)
Adolfo Cambiaso (10)
David Stirling (10)
Pablo Mac Donough (10)
Juan Martín Nero (10)

La Aguada Las Monjitas (35)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (8)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (9)
Miguel Novillo Astrada (9)
Ignacio Novillo Astrada (9)

El Paraíso (35)
Agustin Merlos (9)
Ignacio Toccalino (9)
Ignacio Heguy (9)
Santiago Toccalino (8)

Zone B

Ellerstina (38)
Mariano Aguerre (9)
Nicolás Pieres (9)
Gonzalo Pieres (10)
Facundo Pieres (10)

Alegría (37)
Hilario Ulloa (10)
Lucas Monteverde (9)
Guillermo Caset (10)
Frederick Mannix (8)

Washington (32)
Diego Cavanagh (8)
Tomás García del Río (7)
Facundo Sola (8)
Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (9)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.