A Trio of Finals

Jam-packed schedule at the RCBPC

In the FCT Invitational Challenge Trophy, James Fearn’s Tally Ho Farm were up against Raph Singh’s Regal Warriors for the FCT Invitation Challenge Trophy. In what was a very fast and open game it was Regal Warriors who ran out the winners with a score of 11-8.

Next up it was the Winter Victor Ludorum 5-8 Goal and an extremely close Final saw Taittinger and Tex8n Polo go head-to-head. An exciting game saw even scores at the final bell so an extra chukka was played with Tex8n Polo running out the winners with Nico San Roman finding the posts. Nico San Roman was presented with The Polo Magazine Most Valuable Player Award, whilst Luna who is owned and played by Will Emerson was presented with the Polo Times Best Playing Pony Rug.

Plummeting temperatures and rock hard ground had thwarted plans to play the HPA National Club Championships 6 and 15 Goal back on the 22 January. The 6 goal Subsidiary Final was played yesterday with Hue & Cry running out the winners. The Final of the 6 goal will be played next weekend. The Final of the 15 goal was also played for yesterday between Hilali Noordeen’s Sifani and Simon Arber’s Four Quarters. A small change to the Four Quarters’ line up saw Ollie Cudmore being substituted by Nico San Roman due to prior commitments abroad (Ollie is playing in New Zealand in the Kihikihi International). A very fast and technical match ensued, with both teams working hard to make their opportunities on goal count. The match came down to the wire and with an extra chukka on the cards, the fourth chukka ended 15-15. What felt like minutes went by whilst both teams were desperately trying to clinch the silverware, but it was an unfortunate foul by Ryan Pemble that gave Richard, The Earl of Tyrone the opportunity to convert a 15 yard penalty to win and Four Quarters ran out the winners 16-15.

Richard, The Earl of Tyrone secured a duo of awards as he was delighted to be named The Polo Magazine Most Valuable player, whilst his stalwart pony Cheeky Monkey was presented with the Polo Times Best Playing Pony Rug.


HPA National Club Championships 15 Goal Final Teams:

Four Quarters (14): Simon Arber (1), Nico San Roman (5) & Richard, The Earl of Tyrone (8)

Sifani (15): Hilali Noordeen (1), Mikey Henderson (6) & Ryan Pemble (8)

Mt Brilliant (20): Bo Goodman (1), Jason Crowder (6), Santiago Chavanne (7) & Julian Daniels (6)

Winter Victor Ludorum 5-8 Goal Final Teams:

Tex8n Polo (8): Mindi Byrne (0), Terence Lent (3) & Nico San Roman (5)

Taittinger (8): Jeremy Pemberton (1), Charlie Cadogan (1) & Will Emerson (6)

Photographs: A trio of victorious teams lifted silverware at RCPBC on Sunday. Courtesy of RCPBPC

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.