Argentina defeated defending champions Chile 8 goals to 7 in a dramatic final that went to extra time.

The final chukka was nail-biting. Chile scored a goal in the sixth minute, and everyone thought the game was defined. But Lucio Fernandez Ocampo decided to give it one more shot and tied the game seconds before the final bell. The game then went into extra chukka.

It was impossible to predict who would take the cup home. Until Lucio Fernandez Ocampo stole the ball and made memorable run to scored the golden goal! The play was reminiscent of when Martin Vidou defined the first World Championship in favor of Argentina in 1987 against Mexico.

It was an incredible tournament: Sydney Polo Club and Australia received everyone with open arms and managed to deliver one of the best tournaments in the world. The champions claimed their fifth title with high spirits, showing yet again that Argentine polo is unbeatable and relentless.

The best photos, interviews and full matches will be up on PoloLine soon! Stay tuned!

Argentina: Lucio Fernández Ocampo 2 (4 goals), Héctor Guerrero 5, Valentín Novillo Astrada 5, Tomás Panelo 3 (4). Total: 15.
Chile: José Martínez 2, José Zegers 5 (3), Andrés Vial 3 (2), José Pereira 4 (1). Total: 14.
Score Argentina: (0-1) 1-1, 2-2, 3-2, 4-4, 6-6, 7-7, 8-7.
MVP: Lucio Fernández Ocampo.
Top Scorer of the FIP World Polo Championship: Tomás Panelo (18 goals).
Umpires: Fergis Gould and Julian Appleby.

Third Place match: England 6-5 United States.
England: Ed Banner-Eve 2 (1 goal), Satnam Dhillon 5 (1), Henry Porter 2, Peter Webb 5 (4). Total: 14.
United States: Matías González 2, Jesse Bray 5 (2), Felipe Viana 5 (3), James Wright 2. Total: 14.
Score England: 2-0, 3-1, 3-2, 4-3, 5-5, 6-5.

Picture Galleries:
Final FIP World Polo Championship: Argentina vs Chile
Final FIP World Polo Championship: Podium and Prize Giving
Third Place Match FIP World Polo Championship: England vs United States

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.