By Alejandra Ocampo

Six teams up to 26 goals will be playing the US Open, that will kick off on Wednesday April 5. Considered one of the most prestigious tournaments of the world, it is the culminating moment of the season at International Polo Club Palm Beach.

The US Open was first played in 1904, in Van Cortlandt, in the Bronx borough in New York City, and it featured just two teams, the Wanderers and Freebooters. It resumed in 1910, with six teams in competiton. Back then, the current trophy, a tall ornate silver cup, designed by artist Sally James Farham, was presented for the first time.

The US Open moved to several destinations – Narragansett Pier, Rhode Island; its longtime home, Meadowbrook Polo Club. In 1954, it was played at Oak Brook. Twenty two years later, it moved to Retama, in San Antonio, Texas. In the late 80s and into the 90s, the tournament was played in several clubs, until 2004. Marking the centenary of its inception, the US Open relocated at International Polo Club Palm Beach, where it has been played ever since.

So, the 2017 edition of the coveted US Open will have a fantastic opening match: title holders, Orchard Hill are due to play Valiente, the recent winners of the CV Whitney Cup and thr USPA Gold Cup, at 5pm.

The final of the US Open will take place on Sunday, April 23.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.