Snake Bite wins Archie David Cup; Marchfield claim Apsley Cup at Cirencester News Jul 2, 2018



Maximilian Kirchhoff’s Snake Bite added their name to one of Guards Polo Club’s most prestigious trophies on Sunday: the Archie David Cup. His blue and maroon shirts came out best of the 22 teams who had entered this competitive competition, defeating Vivek Rawal’s Tashan Polo 6-4 on the Queen’s Ground.


Kirchhoff received the trophy, first played for in 1958, from Simon Prosser, Hildon’s Operations Director. His team-mate David Ashby was named MVP, while fellow Snake Bite player, Matt Perry received the BPP Rug for the 14-year-old thoroughbred mare Biscuit.


Snake Bit dominated the game, leading 3-0 at the end of the first chukka, and never relinquished the lead. Tashan Polo, distinctive in their orange colours, failed to get into the game in the first half. They made plenty of runs to goal but failed to convert them to goals. It was Daniel Otamendi who put Tashan Polo on the scoreboard just before half-time.

The second half was a more even affair, although Snake Bite’s George Deverall continued to do a great job of supporting Perry and Ashby, allowing them free runs with the ball. Tashan’s Hamza Mawaz also made the most of any opportunities that he had to break free but was unable to convert some fast play into goals. Although goals from Ashby and Otamendi in the third (4-2), ensured this was still anyone’s game going into the fourth and final chukka.


Snake Bite confirmed their intent in this final chukka, powering through a penalty at the start of the fourth. Tashan replied with a penalty, only for Perry to produce a fabulous shot to goal to give Snake Bite a comfortable 6-3 lead with only minutes of this game left. Mawaz delivered another great run up the Queen’s Ground to score, but time was now against Tashan Polo and Snake Bite, who had been beaten finalists in 2017, ran out the winners 6-4 this year.


FINAL ARCHIE DAVID CUP (at The Queen’s Ground)

Snake Bite 6-4 Tashan Polo

Snake Bite: Matt Perry 5, David Ashby 3, Maximilian Kirchhoff 0, George Deverall 0. Total: 8.

Tashan Polo: Hamza Mawaz 3, James Emlyn 1, Vivek Rawal -1, Daniel Otamendi 5. Total: 8.

Umpires: H. Smith and P. Araya.   Referee: P. Withers.

MVP: David Ashby.

BPP: Biscuit. Played by Matt Perry.



The Claude Pert Cup (at Ground 6)

Mad Dogs 6-7 Shoreline

Shoreline: Tunde Karim 0, Santiago de Estrada 6, Julian Drake 0, Henry Porter 2. Total: 8.

Mad Dogs: Jeremy Pemberton 0, Charles Cooney 1, Phil Seller 2, Vieri Antinori 5. Total: 8.


The Caterham Cup (at The Duke’s Ground)

Tex8n Polo 9-8 White Crane

Tex8n Polo: Mindi Byrne 0, Kian Hall 2, Nicolas San Roman 3, Fabio Lavinia 3. Total: 8.

White Crane: Alexie Calvert-Ansari 0, Marcus Cork 1, Andrew Blake Thomas 3, Henry Fisher 4. Total: 8.








The Apsley Cup came to an end on Sunday at Cirencester Park. The tournament saw six 18-goal teams in participation.


The detail on the final was as follows:

Marchfield 9-8 Bardon



Marchfield: Saad Audeh 0, Roberto Zedda 4, Manuel Plaza de Ayala 6, Guillermo Terrera 8. Total: 18.

Bardon: Andras Tombor 0, Matias Machado 5, Santiago Laborde 6, Jejo Taranco 7. Total: 18.

MVP: Guillermo Terrera.

BPP: Aguará. Played by Guillermo Terrera.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.