UK High Goal Update

12 teams set to compete

As it currently stands, we are set to see 12 teams compete in the Queen’s and Gold Cups, or one of the other iconic 22 goal tournaments such as The Trippetts Challenge, The Prince of Wales Trophy or The Warwickshire Cup. This year’s programme not only sees a number of teams return to take part in the British 22 goal competition once again but also welcomes two new sides to the 22 goal level for the very first time; Andrey Borodin’s Park Place and Alshair Fiyaz’s F Polo Team.

However, before we take a further look at all those who have their sights set on some of the sport’s most prestigious titles, we must mention one team who is notably absent from this year’s high goal programme and that is Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha’s mighty King Power. King Power will not feature in any action on the field, but their presence however will still very much remain, albeit in a slightly different format as they take on the position as title sponsors of The Gold Cup.

Another effect that comes as a result of the fact that Srivaddhanaprabha’s side, whose distinctive blue shirts have maintained a position at the top of the 22 goal scene ever since they made their high goal debut in 2014, will not play is the split of the formidable ‘Pieres duo’. Consequently, this season we will see Facundo represent La Indiana, whilst Gonzalito has been signed up by Corinne Ricard to be the main man in her Murus Sanctus team.

Adolfo Cambiaso has moved from RH Polo to Bob Jornayvaz’s Valiente, a side he regularly plays for in the USA and whom he also represented in the 2016 Gold Cup. This year’s Cartier Queen’s Cup we will also see the return of Max Gottschalk and his Les Lions side – this is a team who over the years has played the high goal circuit a number of times and it is great to see them take on the 22 goal once again. The Les Lions team will feature professionals Guillermo Terrera, Joaquin Pittaluga and Jaime Huidobro. This trio will then go on to play The King Power Gold Cup under the captainship of Harald Link for his Thai Polo side.

Spencer McCarthy has put a team together for The Prince of Wales Trophy and The Cartier Queen’s Cup. His Emlor team will consist of McCarthy, Tincho Merlos, Diego Cavanagh and Emlor stalwart Nacho Gonzalez. McCarthy will play off his new high goal handicap of 0 goals (his ‘usual’ handicap is 1).

There are currently rumours flying around that we will see another high goal team add to the mix but details of who are yet to be announced. We will update our readers as soon as we know.

2018 High Goal Teams:

Talandracas: Edouard Carmignac (0) Alejandro Muzzio (7), Julian de Lusarreta (7) & Francisco Elizalde (8)

Britannia El Remanso: Charlie Hanbury (4), Ollie Cudmore (6), James Beim (6) & James Harper (6)

F Polo Team: Alishair Fiyaz (0), TBA (4), Polito Pieres (9) & Nico Pieres (9)

Park Place: Andrey Borodin (0), Tommy Beresford (5), Juan Britos (7) & Hilario Ulloa (10)

La Indiana: Michael Bickford (1), Alec White (4), Nic Roldan (7) & Facundo Pieres (10)

RH Polo: Ben Soleimani (0), Min Podesta (5), Guillermo Caset (9) & Rodrigo Andrade (8)

Valiente: Bob Jornayvaz (1), Hugo Lewis (4), Cristian Laprida (7) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)

Les Lions/Thai Polo: Max Gottschalk/Harald Link (0), Guillermo Terrera (8), Joaquin Pittaluga (7) & Jaime Huidobro (7)

La Bamba de Areco: Jean-Francois Decaux (0), Byron Watson (3), David ‘Pelon’ Stirling (9) & Juan Martin Nero (10)

Murus Sanctus: Corinne Ricard (0), TBA (4), Facundo Sola (8) & Gonzalo Pieres (10)

Monterosso Polo Team: Alessandro Bezzoni (0), Juan Martin Zubia (6), Ignacio Toccalino (8) & Santiago Toccalino (8)

Emlor: Spencer McCarthy (0), Tincho Merlos (9), Diego Cavanagh (8) & Nacho Gonzalez (5)


 Photograph: Spencer McCarthy has put together an Emlor team for the UK high goal season. By ©

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.