Hurlingham Open: La Dolfina Saudi made history and claimed the second leg of the Triple Crown

By Alejandra Ocampo

No question at all – the 2022 Argentine Triple Crown is providing moments to remember. Following an extraordinary Tortugas Open final between La Natividad and Ellerstina, today, Saturday October 29, the championship match of 129° Hurlingham Open, the second leg the most coveted polo trophy in the world, was indeed memorable. On the Lewis Lacey Ground, at the Hurlingham Club, La Dolfina claimed the title following a narrow 13-12 win over La Irenita Grand Champions.

Moreover, it was a match that made history: Adolfo Cambiaso, a living legend, not only of polo but in sports in general, who won everything here, there and everything, added an extra to his long and extremely successful career; because he had the delight to win his first tournament of the Triple Crown alongside his son, Poroto the 16-years-old boy who, by the way, delivered a spectacular performance. It was history for La Irenita, as well, the lineup commanded by Pablo MacDonough, joined by three fantastic players, including their key man, Juan Martin Zubía. In their debut year within the Triple Crown, they already reached their first final, and indeed they were up to the task by presenting battle to one of the greatest teams in history.

With regards to the match, the first chukka ended with a slight advantage for La Dolfina Saudi, who took command of the two next episodes, earning an impressive 6-1 by the end of the third chukka. In the last minutes within the chukka, Juan Britos produced a goal for La Irenita, and things would change for good for La Irenita, who managed to bounce back and closed the gap to one goal (6-7), courtesy of Pablo MacDonough (1) and Juan Martín Zubía (3).

La Dolfina Saudi were back in the game after half time; they scored four consecutive goals in two chukkas, and the scoreboard already read a 12-7 lead for the Cañuelas-based team at the end of the sixth chukka. But La Irenita bounced back again in the seventh, through goals by Juan Martín Zubía and Fran Elizalde, which meant that La Dolfina Saudi were leading by only two goals (12-9) with only one chukka left. It seemed that the deal was almost said and done, following a spectacular goal by Poroto Cambiaso within the first minute in the last chukka, but he wasn’t aware he had produced the last goal for La Dolfina. Because La Irenita seized the reins and took control of the match. Juan Martín Zubía – who else” – scored three unanswerered goals in an attempt to earn an extra chukka. But at the end of the day, the efforts didn’t pay off. Juan Martin’s last goal came in the last seconds of play, so La Dolfina Saudi secured the 13-12 win and the title.

A very well deserved champion, a contender who gave their best, a remarkable final. That’s what the 129th. Hurlingham Open championship match left us, prior to what’s coming up next, the much anticipated 129th. Argentine Open, due in just a couple of days. So, ladies and gentlemen, fasten your seatbelts, because you wouldn’t want to miss the last leg of the season!

The 129th. Hurlingham Open saw eight teams between 29 and 39 goals, in participation.



La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso  10 (1 goal), David Stirling 10 (2), Adolfo Cambiaso 9 (8, 6 penalties), Juan Martín Nero 10 (2). Total: 39.

La Irenita Grand Champions: Juan Britos  9 (2 penalties), Francisco Elizalde 9 (2), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (1), Juan Martín Zubía 8 (7, 4 penalties and 1 corner). Total: 36.

Score La Dolfina Saudi: 2-1, 6-1, 6-2, 7-6, 8-6, 12-7, 12-9, 13-12.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Gonzalo López Vargas.               Third man: José Ignacio Araya.

Javier Novillo Astrada & Fly Polo MVP Award: Juan Martín Nero.

Fair Play Award: Juan Martín Nero.

BPP Daniel Kearney Cup (Hurlingham Club): Dolfina Roxy, ridden by Adolfo Cambiaso.

Best Polo Argentino Bred, presented by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Assn.: Dolfina B06 Cuartetera Clone, ridden by Adolfo Cambiaso.


129th. Hurlingham Open, Final – La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Irenita Grand Champions

129th. Hurlingham Open – Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.