The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup draw announced

images-news-JLCOld Bond Street London gathering sees teams drawn for 2015
The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup draw took place last night at the new London home of Jaeger-LeCoultre on Old Bond Street. Fourteen teams, will take part in this year’s tournament, two more than in The Cartier Queen’s Cup.

Chris Bethell, Polo Manager for Cowdray Park commented, “We are delighted that fourteen teams have entered the 2015 Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup, indicating once again the stature of The British Open Polo Championship in world terms. Tonight I am seeding the four Semi-Finalists of The Cartier Queen’s Cup and then every other team will draw for a place in three leagues. I guarantee every team, four league games, and the top eight, determined by points and goal difference, go forward to the Quarter Finals, leading to the final knock-out phase of the British Open tournament.”

Teams re-entering The British Open Championships are the HB Polo side of Sebastien and Ludovic Pailloncy, Nick Clarke’s Salkeld team which includes Jaeger-LeCoultre Ambassador Luke Tomlinson, Edouard Carmignac’s Talandracas and Harald Link’s Thai Polo team as well as UAE. Apes Hill Club returns after several years’ absence with three British players lining-up alongside Anglo-Argentine 9 goaler Eduardo Novillo Astrada, also an Ambassador for Jaeger-LeCoultre. However, brand new to the tournament are Michael Bickford’s La Indiana side, Ben Soleimani’s RH Polo and Dr Hilali Noordeen’s VPS Healthcare Sifani. For a full list of teams click here.

Jaeger-LeCoultre has strong links with the history of polo; the creation of their Reverso watch in 1931 was a result of a request from British colonial officers in India, who grew tired of damaging their watches during polo matches. Earlier in the evening yesterday, Jaeger-LeCoultre unveiled a new special edition piece.

The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup for the British Open Polo Championship opens on Tuesday 23 June when the Carlos Gracida Memorial Trophy will be contested. Quarter Finals take place over the weekend 11 – 12 July, Semi Finals on Wednesday 15 July and the Final on Sunday 19 July. Click here to purchase tickets.

Photograph: The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup Draw 2015.