Joe Barry Final ripe for the picking for Orchard Hill

facuFacundo Pieres scores 12 goals for his winning team

The Final of the 2015 20 goal, the second tournament hosted by International Polo Club Palm Beach of the season, was played between Steve Van Andel’s Orchard Hill (Facundo Pieres, Lucas Criado and Remy Du Celliee Muller) and Jim Zenni’s Villa Del Lago (Polito Pieres, Agustin Obregon and Julian de Lusarreta).

Facundo Pieres, Orchard Hill’s resident 10 goaler, opened the scoring account for his team with a 60-yard penalty conversion in the first two minutes of play, which was swiftly equaled with a field goal from Julian de Lusaretta. Facundo’s cousin, Polito then took Villa Del Lago into the lead, before the first chukka ended with a second goal from Facundo to finish 2 all. Goals exchanged between both teams, meant Villa Del Lago edged ahead in the second, coming out on top 5-4, before a field goal and consecutive penalties to Orchard Hill to 7-6 at half-time.
Pace continued to quicken in the fourth, with a strong offensive from Villa Del Lago leaving Orchard Hill desperately looking for goals. Three goals from Zenni’s team and excellent defense meant only Steve Van Andel managed to penetrate to get Orchard Hill’s sole goal of the chukka.
Facundo played a blinder in the fifth, following up on a 30-yard penalty conversion with three consecutive goals plus another from his teammate Lucas Criado. Re-taking the lead riding into the sixth, Villa Del Lago’s Polito and Julian tried to stage a comeback for their team, but Facundo put his final stamp on the game, scoring his twelfth goal and leading Orchard Hill to a 15-13 victory. Unsurprisingly, Facundo cleaned up at the prize-giving, winning both MVP and Best Playing Pony for his Shelty.
In The Bobby Barry Cup for the winners of the Subsidiary Final, a talented Audi line-up (Marc Ganzi, Lucas Lalor, Nic Roldan and Fred Mannix) defeated Lechuza Caracas (Luis de Borbon, Marcos Alberdi, Juan Martin Nero and Tomas Goti), 12 goals to 10.
Photograph: Orchard Hill win the 2014 Joe Barry Cup at International Polo Club Palm Beach. By LILA PHOTO