La Martina British Ladies’ Championships underway

laSix teams take to the fields in the 12-18 goal tournament
The La Martina British Ladies’ Championships began on Monday 13 July, with the La Martina Cowdray Vikings defeating Brunei Polo Team with a final score of 8-4. The tournament, played under the newly allocated ladies’ handicaps, has attracted six teams. The player lists include well-known international ladies such as Sarah Wiseman, Tiva Gross, Stephanie Haverhals and Lia Salvo. The Finals of the tournament will be played for on Saturday 18 July, the day before the Finals of The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup. The teams have been split into two leagues and the winners of the initial round of games within the league will play in the Final.

This tournament, and a separate event at Cirencester to be played later this month, were both released as the first scheduled tournaments back in February to be run under the new ladies’ handicaps. These tournaments will also form the basis for any handicap reviews by the Ladies’ Handicap Committee, which consists of Cirencester Polo Manager Tim Keyte, Cowdray Park Polo Club Manager Chris Bethell, the UK’s highest rated lady player Nina Clarkin and her sister Tamara Fox. Nina is also playing in the tournament for the Apes Hill/Huntington team alongside Apes Hill Polo Club’s Camilla Williams, Lottie Lamacroft and Lucy Taylor. Click here to see the full team lists and play dates.

Photograph: Action from the Gigaset International ladies’ match, which was also played under ladies’ handicaps. By Lucy Wilson