Lots of ladies at Ascot park this weekend

images-news-LW-PIC-2014The UK National Women’s Tournament draw and teams announced

The largest ladies’ tournament in the country is to be played this weekend at Ascot Park Polo Club, the home of the International Women’s Polo Association, founded by Club Director Pippa Grace. Following on from the success of the 2014 summer and winter tournaments, 12 teams have entered to play the two day tournament in three different sections. In the 0-1 goal section the first game of the day on Saturday 21 February will be between Salesforce (Sophie Morrison, Jemma Byrne and Sarah Hotston) and Berkshire Vehicle Sales (Charley Howell, Genevieve Meadows and Yasmin Tatlah), followed by the first game in the 2 goal section between Moor Hall Farm (Charlotte Sweeney, Francesca Smith and Alexandra Edwards) and Alegria (Tatiana Menshenina, Claire Maldonado and Laura Plant). The first game in the 3-4 goal section will be between Black Hound Pink Power (Mandie Beitner, Charlotte Christododoulu and Bryony Tylor) and Mrs. B’s (Charlotte Sweeney, Maxine Betteridge and Georgia Sweeney), followed by the second game in the section between Clarita (Rosie Ross, Saskia Meadows and Saskia Mathias) and Hampshire Polo Club (Heloise Wilson-Smith, Larissa Westall and Lolly Stanhope-White). The penultimate game on the first day will be in the 0-1 goal section with Paradise Farm (Honour Horswell, Christabel Horswell and Lolly Stanhope-White) taking on Women In Polo (Heloise Wilson-Smith, Georgie Wood and Claire Graham). The final game of the day will be between 2 goal teams Las Aguilas (Sophie Granchi, Lucy Bowman with the final player TBA) and Adrenalin Polo (Heather Winsor, Georgie French and Georgiana Crofton). The Finals will be played on Sunday 22 February and Polo Times are supplying a 20th Anniversary Best Playing Pony Rug and sister publication The Polo Magazine has supplied a Most Valuable Player Award for each section. As the debate for women’s handicaps continues the tournament will be played with HPA general handicaps.

Photograph: Yasmin Tatlah in action for last year’s 0-1 goal winners KHHP. By Lucy Wilson