Scandinavian Beach Polo World Cup


Post Event Press Release – Scandinavian Beach Polo World Cup – Winners 2015 Team e3Light New York

23 – 25 July 2015 at Hornbæk Beach – Danish Riviera, Denmark

Number of Teams entered : 8

Countries represented : Denmark, Argentina, England, Germany, Switzerland, Czech Republic
Handicap level : 0 – 6 goal

Denmark’s most beautiful beach, situated in the town of Hornbæk on the North Sealand coast played host to the first edition of The Scandinavian Beach Polo World Cup. Hornbæk is Denmark’s equivilant to The Hamptons and is home to the most expensive holiday homes in Scandinavia and has been a summer retreat of the jetset for generations.
8 two man teams entered the 3 day tournament with handicaps from 0 – 6 goals. The tournament had been preceded by a parade through the town to great popularity with the locals who supported the players and the event throughout. The event featured an exclusive VIP area for 300 people who were treated to a lunch of champagne and caviar and food from Ilse Jacobsen’s ‘Kurbadet’ in an impressive marquee with cabanas facing the pitch.

Players from countries ranging from Argentina to Czech Republic took part and also included La Martina’s Brand
Ambassador – George Pearson. The first day saw action from the start with skilled polo to impress the spectators who followed the games with cheers and claps. Impressive plays by players such as Federico Boudou, Royston Prisk and Stevie McGraith made them a favourite with the crowds from the start and throughout the tournament. Ilse Jacobsen Team Hornbæk, e3Light Team New York, Hildon Team London and Land Rover Team Berlin got through to the semi finals on the second day. Second days play saw Ilse Jacobsen Team Hornbæk and e3Light Team New York with impressive wins and so go through to the finals the next day. The finals day wasn’t dampened by a bit of rain and the high octane match was won by e3Light Team New York by 10 goals to 2 for Ilse Jacobsen team Hornbæk.

Patron of team e3light Team New York, Flemming Viktor Andersen said after the match ‘Winning this beautiful tournament has been a great honour and we look forward to coming back and defending out title next year’
Over 8,000 spectators enjoyed the three days of polo action on one of Denmark’s most beautiful beaches and were treated to not only up close polo action but also on-pitch activity such as the Rossini Caviar race which was open to all spectators and proved a great success. Spectators were asked to participate in a race to win a 250g tub of caviar worth over £500. Hildon Water sponsored the ‘best dressed lady’ on Ladies Day Friday with a prize awarded on the pitch to the lucky lady. A charity dinner for SOS Børnebyerne was held on the last evening raising funds for Remée Jackman’s favourite charity.

Professional UK based player Royston Prisk commented ‘this is the most beautiful and well organised beach polo tournament I have ever played in, I loved every minute of it’. Winning Professional Player Federico Boudou said after the prize giving ‘What a great event! Good fun with very nice and welcoming people and a supportive crowd, this was one of the best events I have ever been involved with’

Sponsor list : Land Rover, Jaguar, Hildon Water, e3Light, La Martina, Ilse Jacobsen, Rossini Caviar, Copi Design, Veuve Clicquot, Havreholm Slot, Easyclean, White Rock, Garia, Zen, Shamballa Jewels, Ivan Eltoft

Number of horses at the event : 45

Other Info : The Danish Polo Association was founded in 2013 / Copenhagen Polo Club was founded in 2015
Number of registered players in Denmark : 25 and the number continues to grow

Teams :
Scandinavian Beach Polo World Cup 2015 -Teams
Ilse Jacobsen – Team
Christian Mellentin 1
Camacho Galado 4

Copenhagen Polo Club – Team
Mette Asmild 0
Lucien Moore 4

Copi Design – Team Zurich
Jesper Brunander 1
Matteo Beffa 1 / Emanuel
Grauwiler 1

Hildon – Team London
Gregers Lauridsen 0
Royston Prisk 4

Land Rover – Team Berlin
Steve Rose 2
Steve McGraith 4

Rossini Caviar – Team Stockholm
Daniel Zetterman 0
George Pearson 4

Tournament Results :
Winning Team – e3Light Team New York (won by 10 goals to 2)
Runners Up – Ilse Jacobsen Team Hornbæk
3rd Place – Land Rover Team Berlin (won by 8 goals to 6.5)
4th Place – Hildon Team London
5th Place – Rossini Team Stockholm (won by Rossini 15 goals to 8)
6th Place – Zen Team Prague
7th Place – Copenhagen Polo Club (won by 9 goals to 5)
8th Place – Copi Design
Most Valuable Player – Federico Boudou