The Joe Barry Memorial came to an end on Sunday at International Polo Club, in Wellington, Florida. The tournament saw eleven 20-goal teams in competition. First, Tackería lifted the Herbie Pennell Cup, and now it was time for Tonkawa and Villa del Lago Modere to fight for the second high goal challenge of the season, after beating La Indiana and Coca-Cola, respectively, in the semifinals.

The match got off to an even start. Tonkawa scored first, thanks to quick play by Sterling Giannico, but Hilario Ulloa replied swiftly with a goal for his team. Then Sapo Caset, infallible throughout the tournament in terms of penalties, closed the first chukka 2-1 in favour of Tonkawa. In the second, the Lobos local really started to shine. He scored three goals to take Tonkawa 4-1 up by the start of the third.

Villa del Lago Modere made a strong comeback in the next two chukkas. The dominance Tonkawa had shown started to fade, and Jim Zenni’s side managed to score seven to Tonkawa’s three goals in the fourth and fifth. Villa del Lago Modere managed to tie the match 9-all by the end of the fifth, a feat which seemed nearly unthinkable in the third.

With the match tied, both teams came out in the sixth to fight for the title. The ball went back and forth several times as possession was constantly interchanged. But in the end, the Caset – de Lusarreta duo came through to take control. Hilario Ulloa’s attack was not enough, and two goals from Caset and one from de Lusarreta gave Jeff Hildebrand’s team a magnificent 12-9 win.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand A, Sterling Giannico 3 (1 goal), Sapo Caset 10 (8), Julián de Lusarreta 7 (3).
Villa del Lago/Modere: Jim Zenni A, Agustín Obregon 5, Hilario Ulloa 10 (7 goals), Jared Zenni 5 (1).
Score Tonkawa: 2-1, 5-1, 6-2, 8-6, 9-9, 12-9.
MVP: Sapo Caset.
BPP: Lavinia Castellana, played by Hilario Ulloa.
Top scorers of the tournament: Sebastián Merlos (36); Sapo Caset & Mariano González (34).


The final was an attractive one. The Pieres brothers came through for Curtis Pilot’s team to claim the victory. Good performance from Pilot in their 2018 debut tournament.

Pilot: Curtis Pilot A, Timmy Dutta 1 (1 goal), Gonzalito Pieres 9 (6), Facundo Pieres 10 (5).
Goose Creek: Maureen Brennan 1, Peke González 5 (1 goal), Mariano González 7 (6), Matías Magrini 7 (2).
Score Pilot: 1-3, 3-5, 3-7, 6-8, 9-9, 12-9.
MVP: Facundo Pieres.
BPP: Original, played by Mariano González.

The 20-goal season at International Polo Cup continues on Thursday with the Ylvisaker Cup, which sees thirteen teams in competition.

All matches will be streamed live on Pololine TV via