allasiacup2016-13-2015-12-291G2016 in Thailand will kick off with a new edition of the successful All Asia Cup. This prestigious Tournament is held every alternate year with great success and is known for its level of fair play, based on international and professional standards. Many major polo countries will be represented in Bangkok during this exciting tournament, currently considered the highlight of the Asian polo season. Since its very start, the, All Asia Cup has been recognized as a major national tournament within the international polo community.

The All Asia Cup was born in 2007, during the 24th Sea Games held in Thailand. Those games saw Thailand Polo Team earn a very valuable third place. The games were a huge success, and led Mr. Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha to the idea of establishing a permanent polo tournament that would be played in Thailand every 2 years, to continue the growth and development of Southeast Asian polo.
The first ever All Asia Cup was due on January 9, 2012 featuring four teams in competition: China, India, Mongolia, and Thailand. Thailand emerged as the winners back then. The number of teams doubled in the second edition, in 2014: Brunei, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, South Korea and Thailand. The winners were Indonesia.

Now, in its third edition, the All Asia Cup will showcase eight teams from Southeast Asia – Brunei, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, South Korea and Thailand. will battle for the coveted All Asia Cup, through January 5 to 16, at the lavish VR Sports Club.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.