Teams Announced for St. Moritz Snow Polo

st10 Goal Chris Hyde to Play for England Team

The Snow Polo World Cup, St. Moritz has announced the teams that are to play for The Cartier Trophy in the world-famous tournament, which runs from Friday 29 – Sunday 31 January 2016.

Heading up the English team, Chris Hyde joins Nacho Gonzalez and patron Spencer McCarthy in the foundations of a very solid-looking side. With five St. Moritz titles under his belt already, and an arena handicap of 10 goals, Hyde is widely regarded as the best snow polo player in the world.

The three other teams of the tournament are set to be put together by Rommy Gianni for Italy, Richard Fagan for Ireland and Cedric Schweri of Switzerland. All three players played in last year’s edition of the contest, finishing second, third and fourth respectively. Last year, Gianni’s 15 goal BMW team lost out to the victorious Cartier side by 10-2½. The sound defeat saw the Cartier team of Jonathan Munro Ford, Max Charlton, Jamie Morrison and Chris Hyde victorious.

The Cartier Trophy is the most famous high goal tournament played on snow, with 20,000 spectators expected to flock to the match in January.

Photograph: Action from last year’s St. Moritz snow polo. By Richenda Hine

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.