On the upcoming weekend, long-time rivals Ellerstina and La Dolfina will meet in the final of the 76th edition of the Tortugas Open at Tortugas Country Club. Both teams will fight for winning the first part of the Argentine Triple Crown, which is a series of the most important tournaments worldwide and consists of the Tortugas Open, Hurlingham Open and Argentine Open. In 2015, La Dolfina set a new record by winning the Argentine Triple Crown for the third time in a row and this year the foursome will try to surpass itself by adding the fourth consecutive Triple Crown to the team’s history.

On Saturday, 8 October La Dolfina Sancor Seguros Polo Team encountered La Aguada Las Monjitas to fight for the first berth in the final. At the beginning both teams were balanced and the first chukka ended by 1-1. But then La Dolfina started to take control of the match and in the end won by 12-5. Seven goals were scored by the outstandingly playing Juan Martín Nero, his team-mate Adolfo Cambiaso was responsible for scoring five goals.

Yesterday Ellerstina faced Alegría in the match for the second place in the final. In the beginning Ellerstina clearly dominated the match and in the fifth chukka was in the lead by 10-4. Though Alegría narrowed the margin in the following chukkas, the Pieres family was the stronger team and defeated its opponent by 11-9. The final between Ellerstina and La Dolfina will take place on Sunday, 15 October at 3.30 pm (local time).

The schedule:

Saturday, 15 October
Final – 3.30 pm – Ellerstina vs. La Dolfina Sancor Seguros Polo Team


Zone A
La Dolfina (40)
Adolfo Cambiaso (10)
David Stirling (10)
Pablo Mac Donough (10)
Juan Martín Nero (10)

La Aguada Las Monjitas (35)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (8)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (9)
Miguel Novillo Astrada (9)
Ignacio Novillo Astrada (9)

El Paraíso (35)
Agustin Merlos (9)
Ignacio Toccalino (9)
Ignacio Heguy (9)
Santiago Toccalino (8)

Zone B

Ellerstina (39)
Pablo Pieres (10)
Nicolás Pieres (9)
Gonzalo Pieres (10)
Facundo Pieres (10)

Alegría (37)
Hilario Ulloa (10)
Lucas Monteverde (9)
Guillermo Caset (10)
Frederick Mannix (8)

Washington (32)
Diego Cavanagh (8)
Tomás García del Río (7)
Facundo Sola (8)
Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (9)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.