Consolato del Principato di Monaco Polo Team triumphs

The 8th edition of the Viareggio Polo Beach Cup – Versilia Tuscany saw the Consolato del Principato di Monaco Polo Team, formed by team captain Michael Davis (0) as well as Therence Cusmano (2) and Goffredo Cutinelli Rendina (3), emerge as winners. The threesome triumphed in the final match after winning all their respective games of the tournament and defeating the Grand Hotel Riviera Polo Team, consisting of Peter Elser (1), Marco Elser (1) and Pato Rattagan (3), by 7-5.

Fipa Group, including Matteo Beffa (0), Cedric Schweri (0) and Martin Riglos (4), gained third place by winning against Acqua dell’Elba Polo Team, which was well-captained by Gif Turati (0) and included Oscar Carona (2) and Pulli Grillini (2).

This year’s edition of the tournament was once again characterized by excellent teams, high quality polo and a first class organization. Not only Italian players, but also the Swiss players Matteo Beffa and Cedric Schweri and Argentinians like Martin Riglos and Patricio Rattagan participated in the tournament. Jan-Erik Franck and Gian Luca Magini, both experienced polo players, were involved as official speakers of the tournament.

Good weather, sun, happiness and good polo were the main features of this beach polo cup that is held every year at the end of the Italian polo season. The organiser of this event, Patrizia Lencioni, is already working on next year’s edition.

#1 Consolato del Principato di Monaco Polo Team (5)
Therence Cusmano (2, ITA)
Goffredo Cutinelli Rendina (3, ITA)
Michael Davis (0, USA)

#2 Grand Hotel Riviera Polo Team (5)
Peter Elser (1, USA/ITA)
Marco Elser (1, USA/ITA)
Pato Rattagan (3)

#3 Fipa Group (4)
Matteo Beffa (0, CH)
Cedric Schweri (0, CH)
Martin Riglos (4, ARG)

#4 Acqua dell’Elba Polo Team (4)
Gif Turati (0, ARG)
Oscar Carona (2, ITA)
Pulli Grillini (2)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.