Day One of The Tortugas Open

Triple Crown Begins

Tuesday 27 September saw The Tortugas Open begin, kicking off the Triple Crown 2016. In Zone A, La Aguada Las Monjitas took on El Paraíso. Although La Aguada had many chances in the first chukka to convert, all their attempts missed the target. However, the Novillo Astradas were not prepared to go down without a fight, and La Aguada’s Miguel and Ignacio scored two goals. The scores remained tight throughout the next chukkas, with just one goal between the two teams, until the sixth chukka saw La Aguada pull away with a two goal advantage, 10-8. Despite the best efforts of El Paraíso, a last minute 30 yard penalty from Miguel Novillo Astrada closed the game with a final score of 11 goals to 10.
Meanwhile, Zone B saw Alegría take on Washington. It was a game of two halves, with Washington unable to find their groove and trailing throughout, by the end of the fourth chukka Washinton were trailing 9 goals to 4. However, they burst into the fifth chukka with a vengeance and continued to score goal after goal. At the end of the sixth chukka, Cavanagh had the chance to level the scores to 11 -11 for Washington, however the shot missed the goal by just centimetres. The final chukka was a flurry of attacking shots, as both teams attempted to maintain possession. Facunda Sola scored a 30 yard penalty, levelling the scores for the first time in the game, 11-11, and overtime seemed inevitable. However, Alegría were awarded with a last-minute 60 yard penalty shot which Hilario Ulloa converted with just 15 seconds of play left in the game, resulting in victory for Alegría with a final score of 12-11.
The action will continue on Saturday 1 October with La Dolfina facing El Paraíso in Zone A and on Sunday 2 October Ellerstina will play Washington in Zone B.
La Aguada Las Monjitas (35): Alejandro Novillo Astrada (8), Eduardo Novillo Astrada (9), Miguel Novillo Astrada (9) & Ignacio Novillo Astrada (9)
El Paraíso (35): Agustin Merlos (9), Ignacio Toccalino (9), Ignacio Heguy (9) & Santiago Toccalino (8)
Alegria (37): Guillermo Caset (10), Hilario Ulloa (10), Lucas Monteverde (9) & Fred Mannix (8)
Washington (33): Diego Cavanagh (8), Ezequiel Ferrario (8), Facundo Sola (8) & Alfredo Cappella (9)
Photograph: Action from day one of The Tortugas Open. By Matias Callejo.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.