Draw Announced

little-Gold-Cup-2015The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup for the British Open Polo Championship

Cowdray Park Polo Club have announced that 13 teams have entered the 2016 Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup for the British Open Polo Championship. The Draw to decide match play in the opening league phase of this year’s Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup took place on the evening of 6 June at the luxury watchmaker’s Boutique in Old Bond Street, London, in front of an audience, which included representatives of every team.

With The Cartier Queen’s Cup reaching an exhilarating climax on Saturday 11 June, the action never stops in the UK high goal season. With 13 teams set to play this exciting tournament, the summer season is proving to be one of the most exciting to date.

Cowdray Park Polo Club Manager, Chris Bethell, commented at the Draw: “We are delighted to have 13 teams competing for the most coveted trophy in polo, The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup. Tonight I am seeding the four Semi Finalists of The Cartier Queen’s Cup; the four losing Quarter Finalists will also be seeded and placed. In the final phase of the tournament, the leading eight teams decided by points and goal difference, go forward to the Quarter Finals leading to the final knock-out phase of the British Open tournament.”

League A

Valiente, La Indiana, Britannia El Remanso, Murus Sanctus & Cowdray Vikings

Group B

Zacara, Clarke & Green, La Bamba de Areco & Talandracas

Group C

King Power Foxes, RH Polo Team, HB Polo Team & Apes Hill

The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup opens on Tuesday 21 June when the Carlos Gracida Memorial Trophy will be played. The Quarter Finals take place over the weekend of 9 – 10 July, Semi Finals on Wednesday 13 July and the Final on Sunday 17 July.

For a full list of teams competing in this year’s Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup click here.

Photograph: Last year’s winners King Power Foxes raise the prestigious trophy high. By ©www.imagesofpolo.com


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.