England Team Head to India

10th Manipur Polo International 2016

At the time of going to press, the HPA approved England Team is travelling to compete in the 10th Manipur Polo International 2016. So far the Australian and USPA teams have also been confirmed. The Indian line-ups are yet to be announced by the Manipur Polo International Tournament Committee. Last year the 9th Manipur Polo International 2015 was won by the USPA team who defeated India 5-4 with a golden goal. Last year England were represented with a line-up of Mikey Howe (4), Dave Allen (4), Marcus Hancock (2) and Jack Aldridge (-2)

All of the teams are mounted by the Manipur Horse Riding & Polo Association, which was set up in 1977 to revive polo so as to aid the ponies’ survival. Therefore, all teams have been playing on Manipuri ponies, for which the International aims to increase awareness for the plight of the tremendously tough indigenous breed. Typically standing between 11hh and 13hh they are now struggling to survive against the decrease of their natural habitats, due to rapid urbanisation, with numbers as low as only 400 ponies. To find out more about the Manipuri ponies click here to join their Facebook group.


10th Manipur Polo International 2016 teams:

England Team: George Shelton (1), Alec Banner-Eve (2), Kaveh Atrak (0) & Phil Seller (2)

Australian Team: Scott Kennedy-Green (1), Beau Blundell (2), Adam Tolhurst (4), Jock Mackay (4) & Coach/Manager – Dick Doolin (3)

USPA Team: Lucas Reid (1), Loreto Natividad (2), George Krabbe (1) & Ryan Cronin-Prather (1.5)


Photograph: A Manipur groom sporting Polo Times beanie hat at the 2014 edition of the tournament. By Richenda Hine  

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.