High Goal Handicaps

JuanMaJuan Martin Nero Goes to Ten

The handicap changes agreed at the No 1 Meeting (22 goal) held on Monday 18 July 2016 are listed below. There have only been six players raised in handicap including Hugo Lewis who was the only English player, he not only reached the Final of The Jaeger-LeCoultre Gold Cup, but won it with the King Power Foxes team. Having been raised from 2 to 3 goals, it will leave him out of the team for next year’s British 22 goal if King power Foxes were to play the same line-up as Gonzalito, Facundo and Tal have all remained on the same handicaps. The most obvious change in the list is the return of Juan Martin Nero’s 10 goal status. Nero’s handicap dropped at the end of the 2015 British season after Zacara failed to win any of the top titles. His lower handicap meant he was snapped up by Dubai for the 2016 season who went on to win The Cartier Queen’s Cup. La Indiana’s number four player Julian de Lusarreta, Most Valuable Player in The Cartier Queen’s Cup has also been raised from 6 to 7 goals after a solid season of excellent play in all the outings for La Indiana. English players James Beim and Luke Tomlinson have both been lowered from 7 to 6 goals whilst a quartet of overseas players have been lowered from 9 to 8 goals. Youngsters Jose Araya and Kian Hall have also not escaped the handicap committee’s keen eye as they have both gone up however Ollie Cork, and Charles Cooney have been carried forward to the next meeting in August before their high goal futures will be decided.

Handicaps raised:

Juan Martin Nero 9 to 10

Julian de Lusarreta 6 to 7

Alejo de Tarenco Stirling 6 to 7

Hugo Lewis 2 to 3

Jose Ramon Araya 1 to 2

Kian Hall 1 to 2

Handicaps lowered:

Alfredo Capella 9 to 8

Rodrigo de Andrade 9 to 8

Eduardo Novillo Astrada 9 to 8

Nicolas Pieres 9 to 8

James Beim 7 to 6

Luke Tomlinson 7 to 6

Removal of brackets:

Robert Jornayvaz (Jr) (1) to 1

Handicaps to be reviewed at the next meeting on 23 August 2016

Juan Jose de Alba 3 CF

Jacob Daniels 3 CF

Ollie Cork 1 CF

Guy Schwarzenbach 1 CF

Charles Cooney 0 CF

Alex Webb 0 CF

CF = Carried Forward to the next meeting

These changes are subject to ratification by the Stewards after the No 3 Meeting being held on Monday 5 September 2016 and will be effective 1 January 2017.

Photograph: Juan Martin Nero during The 2016 Cartier Queen’s Cup. By ©www.imagesofpolo.com


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.