The 36th edition of the Italian Polo Championship at Roma Polo Club saw five teams competing for the title: Los Avellanos, Black Gin, La Castelluccia Polo Team, Lazio Polo and Mox Experience. The first edition of this tournament was held in 1981 and it now returned to Rome after 12 years.

The Championship was held as a Round-robin tournament and after winning all its respective matches La Castelluccia Polo Team, including Patricio Rattagan, Edoardo Fontana as well as the President of Roma Polo Club, Mr. Cataldo Dandria and well-captained by a veteran Italian polo player Stefano Giansanti, was crowned champion.

This year the rules admitted a foreign player in each team and this increased the level of the game and excitement of the matches. Players from Argentina like JR Guinazu, P. Rattagan, S. Cavanagh constantly showed their a great performance together with experienced Italian players such as G. Cutinelli Rendina, Franco Piazza, P. Grillini, T. Cusmano, S. Chiarella, L. Dorazio and the youngest players like P. Elser, G. Dorazio and G. Magini. All the matches ended with just few goals difference.

In the evening in keeping with tradition, an entertaining event at the Roma Polo Club with Argentinian asado was organised by the captains of the teams and the President of Roma Polo Club, Mr. Cataldo Dandria.