By The Major

Packed grandsstands on a sunny and warm Saturday afternoon, waited for the moment to arrive. The most expected polo match of the year was about to start. In another clash of the titans, in another chapter of the derby, La Dolfina and Ellerstina were ready to decide the world’s most important polo tournament, the 123rd Argentine Polo Open Championship.

Would the real Ellerstina turn up? 2-1 ahead after the first, level 3-3 after two then 6-5 and 7-6 up at halftime. Despite La Dolfina winning 12 throw ins to Ellerstina’s 5 and Ellerstina fouling 8 times to La Dolfina’s 4, Ellerstina were having the better luck.

However, three quick goals for La Dolfina in the fifth and goals from Facundo & Gonzalito had the match level 9-9 at the end of the chukka. At this stage of the match La Dolfina had won 18 throw ins to Ellerstina’s 9 but hadn’t been able to take advantage of the possession and it was 11-11 at the end of the sixth.

La Dolfina had a great seventh chukka moving to 14-11 up. In the eighth, La Dolfina scored two more to Ellerstina’s one goal to take the win 16-12 and their revenge for Hurlingham. La Dolfina, in the end showed the class that has made them one of the all time great teams against an Ellerstina that had pushed them hard for six of the eight chukkas.

Gonzalo Heguy MVP Award: David Stirling.
Lady Susan Townley BPP Award: Zippi (David Stirling).
Gonzalo Tanoira Award to the best mounted player of the tournament: Pelon Stirling.
Fomento Equino Award to the best mounted player of the final: Juan Martín Nero.
Best Polo Argentino Bred, presented by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Association: Vasca Harrods (Juan Martin Nero).
Javier Novillo Astrada Award to the top scorer of the tournament: Adolfo Cambiaso (40 goals).

La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (6, 3 penalties), David Stirling (h) 10 (6), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (1), Juan Martín Nero 10 (3). Total: 40.

Ellerstina Johor: Facundo Pieres 10 (8, 3 penalties), Pablo Pieres 10, Gonzalo Pieres (h) 10 (1) y Nicolás Pieres 9 (3). Total: 39.

Score La Dolfina: 1-2, 3-3, 5-6, 6-7, 9-9, 11-11, 14-11, 16-12.

Umpires: Daniel Boudou y Gastón Dorignac (h).
Third man: Esteban Ferrari.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.