ME Ibiza Polo Team wins in Ibiza

The 7th Ibiza Beach Polo Cup, the most famous tournament at Ibiza Polo Club, once again attracted players from all over the world. Over three days seven teams, including players from the US, Sweden, Austria, Argentina, France, Germany, UK, UAE, Netherlands and Spain, competed against each other for the Copa Ibiza Polo Club, the Copa Air Europa and the Copa Me Ibiza.

On Sunday at first the teams POLO+10 (Thomas Wirth, Anne Pascale Guedon, Julio Rinaldi), Green Planet Oman (Adrien Chavassieu, Albert Scholl, Gabriel Iglesias) and Hierbas de Ibiza (Diane Garland, Chris Garland, Gabriel Iglesias) played against each other in the round robin system for the Copa Ibiza Polo Club. In the end, Hierbas de Ibiza Polo Team was the most successful and won the trophy of the Ibiza Polo Club. In the match for the Copa Air Europa, team Gemwater (Jac Forte, Angela Walker, Agustin Arestizabal) defeated team Air Europa (Ana Korff, Javier Cunill, Tonete Ayesa) and was thus placed third.

These encounters were followed by the great final match between ME Ibiza Polo Team (David Tafuri, Charles Randquist, Ignacio Tillous) and Miss Bikini Polo Team (Robert Kofler, Alexander Shepherd, Federico Español) playing for the Copa Me Ibiza. After a tough fight, ME Ibiza Polo Team defeated Miss Bikini Polo Team and thus became the winner of the tournament.

Thomas Wirth, POLO+10 Polo Team: “We took part in the Ibiza Beach Polo Cup for the second time with our POLO+10 Polo Team and it was a great event just the way it was in the past year! This tournament with players coming from all over the world is really something special. We had a lot of fun!”

Robert Kofler of runner-up team Miss Bikini was awarded as the player who participated the most often in the Ibiza Beach Polo Cup, a total of six times out of seven. Next to exciting polo games the tournament once again included an entertaining social programme, such as live music by Gypsy Moreno from The Gypsy Kings, fashion shows, after polo parties and Argentinian asados.

The polo season at Ibiza Polo Club is not over yet, many tournaments are still up on the club’s agenda such as the Bongo Polo Cup (26-28 August), the Copa Ibiza-Mejico (9-11 September), the POLO+10 Patrons’ Cup (22-26 September), the Copa Hispanidad (7-9 October), the Torneo Navidad (23-25 December) and the Torneo Año Nuevo (30 December 2016 to 1 January 2017).

A few places are still available for the POLO+10 Patrons’ Cup Ibiza, which will take place from 22-26 September at Ibiza Polo Club. For further information just write an email to


Copa Ibiza Polo Club (Round Robin)
Hierbas de Ibiza vs. Green Planet Oman 2-2
Green Planet Oman vs. POLO+10 1-1
Hierbas de Ibiza vs. POLO+10 2-0

Copa Air Europa
Gemwater vs. Air Europa 5-4

Copa Me Ibiza
ME Ibiza vs. Miss Bikini 4-3


#1 ME Ibiza Polo Team
David Tafuri (USA)
Charles Randquist (SWE)
Ignacio Tillous (ARG)

#2 Miss Bikini Polo Team
Robert Kofler (AUT)
Alexander Shepherd (GBR)
Federico Español (ARG)

#3 Gemwater Polo Team
Jac Forte (GBR)
Angela Walker (GBR)
Agustin Arestizabal (ARG)

#4 Air Europa Polo Team
Ana Korff (NED)
Javier Cunill (ESP)
Tonete Ayesa (ESP)

#5 Hierbas de Ibiza Polo Team
Diane Garland (GBR)
Chris Garland (GBR)
Gabriel Iglesias Jr (UAE)

#6 Green Planet Oman Polo Team
Adrien Chavassieu (FRA)
Albert Scholl (GER)
Gabriel Iglesias (ARG)

#7 POLO+10 Polo Team
Thomas Wirth (GER)
Anne Pascale Guedon (FRA)
Julio Rinaldi (ARG)

ME Ibiza Polo Team wins in Ibiza

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.