More Matches, More Action

openlowresThe Argentine Association of Polo (AAP) has Announced Changes in the Format of the Argentine Open
After a meeting of the Board of Directors of the AAP some modifications have been announced to the format and the ruling of the three biggest tournaments in Argentina.

The six teams with the best ranking (three from each zone) will automatically classify for the three tournaments for 2017 (Tortugas, Hurlingham and Palermo). This classification will be regardless of handicap or team name as long as the teams keep 75% of their original line-up.

The way in which the most important polo tournament in the world is to be set up is to be changed. The Argentine Open will feature eight teams, as is usual (the six teams which classified automatically after their performance in 2015 plus the two teams that will classify at the classification tournament that gets underway 23 September). The eight teams will be divided into two Zones. Each zone will play an American style tournament. The top ranked from each zone will pass directly to the Semi Finals and the second and third ranked will play a new cross-played Quarter Final section. Second placed from Zone A will play the third placed from Zone B and vice versa. The winners of the Quarter Finals will then play the Zone winners in a Semi Final. This means that the Open will last longer, with three extra match dates.

The league deciders will be played on weekdays (Tuesdays and Wednesdays), while the Quarter Finals and Semi Finals will take place on weekends.

The dates of the Argentine Triple Crown are as follows:

Tortugas Open: September 27 – 15 October

Hurlingham Open: October 18 – 5 November

Argentine Polo Open Championship: November 12 – 10 December

Photograph: Action from last year’s Argentine Open. By Matias Callejo

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.