Shootout settles semifinals for 2016 Joe Barry Memorial Cup

ImageProxy11By Alex Webbe

Following a four team shootout, the semifinal pairings for the 2016 Joe Barry Memorial Cup have been finalized.

In head-on-head shootout competition, Diego Cavanagh (Dubai), Polito Pieres (Orchard Hill) and Nic Roldan (Audi/Millarville) attempted shots from the 40-ayrd mark and the 60-yard mark on the Number 2 field at the International Polo Club Tuesday morning.

Misses by Pieres sent him packing and eliminated the defending championship Orchard Hill polo team (Steve Van Andel, Peke Gonzalez, Polito Pieres and Lucas Criado) from the tournament and relegated them to a position in the subsidiary, Bobby Barry Cup.

Nic Roldan was the second player to fall out with Cavanagh securing the Number 1 position in Bracket I play, and a berth in Thursday’s Joe Barry Memorial Cup semifinals.

The final competition of the morning was between the team that finished second in Bracket I, Audi/Millarville, and Palm Beach Illustrated, represented by Facundo Obregon. Obregon outlasted Roldan in the shootout, earning the fourth semifinal slot for Palm Beach Illustrated and sending Audi/Millarville to the Bobby Barry subsidiary Cup.

The playoff schedule for the Joe Barry Memorial Cup on Thursday, January 28th will have Enigma (Jerome Wirth, Jeff Hall, Matias MacDonough and Carlucho Arellano) facing Palm Beach Illustrated (Nacho Badiola, Jared Zenni, Facundo Obregon and Jesse Bray) in an 11am contest. At 3pm Dubai (Rashid Albwardy, Carlitos Gracida, Alejo Taranco and Diego Cavanagh) will play Villa del Lago (Jim Zenni, Agustin Obregon, Hilario Ulloa and Guille Aguero). The winners are scheduled to meet in the final on Sunday, January 31st.

Orchard Hill is slated to play Tonkawa (Jeff Hildebrand, Gonzalo Deltour, Sebastian Merlos and Mason Wroe) in a 10am semifinal game in the subsidiary, Bobby Barry Cup followed by the second subsidiary semifinal between Audi/Millarville (Grant Ganzi, Nic Roldan, Julian Mannix and Freddie Mannix) and Coca-Cola (Gillian Johnston, Sugar Erskine, Julio Arellano and Steve Krueger). The winners will face off in the Bobby Barry Cup final at noon on Sunday.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.