SNOW POLO WORLD CUP ST. MORITZ 2016 Kicked off the throne

snow-polo-world-cup-st-moritz-2016-team-maserati-award-ceremonyTeam Maserati wins the 32nd Snow Polo World Cup in St. Moritz 2016 with a tight 5-4 against Team Cartier. POLO+10 was present and reports for you at first hand!

After winning the prestigious Snow Polo World Cup in St. Moritz three times in a row, Team Cartier was kicked off the throne by Rommy Gianni (1), Dario Musso (7), Luciano Vazquez (2) and Frankie Menendes (6) of team Maserati. After taking the lead in the first chukka, Cartier experienced a massive pressure and offensive strategy by Maserati. The two teams already played against each other on Saturday, so Maserati had enough time to get to know the opponent properly.

By the end of the third chukka Maserati had established a 5-2 advantage. Two converted penalty shots of “the Prof” Chris Hyde made the final moments of the match breathtaking thrilling. Commentator and polo expert Jan-Erik Franck: “Maserati could well prepare for the final today. And they did. In the second and third chukka the pressure on Cartier was immense.” Most Valuable Player of the tournament became Dario Musso from Argentina, who had worked a lot for the victory of his team Maserati.

The match for the third place and the La Martina Trophy went to team Badrutt’s Palace Hotel with Melissa Ganzi (1) and Mariano Gracida (4), both from the United States, Augustin “Tincho” Merlos, who was with 9 goals the highest handicapped player of the tournament, and Tito Gaudenzi (2). These two teams did also play against each other the day before and a 5th chukka and Golden Goal decided finally which team emerged victorious. On Sunday both teams were very even again. They started at 3-3 in the beginning of the 4th chukka. Then team Badrutt’s Palace got together all its power and took the lead with 5-3 goals.

For organiser Reto Gaudenzi, the Godfather of snow polo who invented the venue in 1985 and who gave new life to the snow polo tradition in St. Moritz last year, the venue was simply one thing: “Just perfect!”. Dr. Piero Dillier, President of the Evviva Polo St. Moritz AG, could welcome far over 10,000 guests. Special guests were of course General Elcin Guliyev, President of the Equestrian Federation of Azerbaijan Republic (ARAF) and Bahruz Nabiyev, Secretary general of the ARAF as well as the former FIP President Dr. Richard Caleel and his wonderful wife.

Official Supplier with a great presentation of the new collection was again La Martina. A superb polo experience at best conditions on 1,800 metres altitude. The audience, players and organisers are very much looking forward to the next year’s edition of the Snow Polo World Cup in St. Moritz.

#1 Team Maserati (16)
Rommy Gianni 1 (ITA)
Luciano Vazquez 2 (ESP)
Dario Musso 7 (ARG)
Frankie Menendes 6 (ARG)

#2 Team Cartier (15)
Spencer McCarthy 1 (ENG)
Charlie Wooldridge 2 (ENG)
Chris Hyde 6 (ENG)
Nacho Gonzalez 6 (ENG)

#3 Team Badrutt’s Palace Hotel (15)
Melissa Ganzi 0 (USA)
Augustin Merlos 9 (ARG)
Mariano Gracida 4 (USA)
Tito Gaudenzi 2 (SUI)

#4 Team Perrier-Jouët (15)
Cedric Schweri 0 (SUI)
Luca Zindel 1 (SUI)
Aluisio Rosa 7 (BRA)
Olavo Novaes 7 (BRA)

Kicked off the throne

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.