On Saturday, September 16, 2017, the 33rd Annual Harriman Cup took place at Bethpage State Park, the home of the summer-long Polo at the Park in Bethpage, New YorkThe yearly match between The University of Virginia (UVA) and Yale brings alumni—and equestrian enthusiasts—together for a day of polo dressed in colorful outfits and over-the-top tailgates. The full-day event includes the polo match, tailgating, and dance party along with prizes awarded for the Best Hat, Best Dressed, Best Tailgate and Best Dog. The Harriman Cup was founded in 1984 to commemorate the life of W. Averell Harriman, a 1913 Yale graduate and polo player, who was the former Governor of New York, former U.S. Ambassador to Great Britain and The Soviet Union, and was the U.S. Secretary of Commerce under President Truman.

Harriman Cup

The Harriman Cup is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the sport of polo and supporting the collegiate polo programs at Yale and UVA. The organization has raised over $1 million for the schools’ undergraduate polo teams over the past three decades.

This year, the 2017 Harriman Cup Award was dedicated to Peter M. Brant. Peter Brant is an entrepreneur, manufacturing executive, publisher, philanthropist, sportsman and art collector, whose eclectic mix of personal interests and commercial ventures have resulted in achievements in business, philanthropy and the arts.  More information on Mr. Brant and his work can be found here.

The players for the UVA Team were: Adam Klopp, Nick Barry, Felipe Gomez and Tariq Dag Khan. Playing for team Yale were: Liz Brayboy, Sam Clemens, Branden Van Loon and Jim DeAngelis.

Harriman Cup

For the first time in eight years, the Yale team came out on top with a solid 10-6.5 victory. Most Valuable Player was awarded to UVA’s Nick Barry. Best Playing Pony honors were presented to KK played by Branden Van Loon of Yale. Sponsors for the year’s event included Blade, Rowing Blazers, Moet & Chandon, Cadillac, Robb Vices, Harmless Harvest, What 2 Wear Where, JP Crickers, Happy Tree, James H Brooke, Hackamore, Jack + Mulligan, Kendra Scott, and India Hicks.

For updated information, please refer to WWW.HARRIMANCUP.ORGThe Harriman Cup Facebook Page, and @TheHarrimanCup on Instagram.

All photos © Debra Napp.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.