Escorihuela Gascon win in extra time at Guards La Aguada Polo Trophy

Following a very exciting championship match, that was decided in extra chukka, Escorihuela Gascón beat Whitehall Ranch by a narrow 7-6 and claimed the 16-goal VII Guards La  Aguada Polo Trophy, held within the 2017 HSBC Spring Season at La Aguada Polo Club, in Open Door, Argentina.


The Subsidiary went to Cowdray Vikings, who defeated Tattleton 9-7.


This has been another successful edition of the tournament hosted by La Aguada Polo Club, in close partnership with one of UK’s premier polo clubs, Guards Polo Club. The competition highlights the close partnership between Guards and the Novillo Astrada family, and it is already established as one of the most popular events within the polo calendar in Argentina.


The partnership between both clubs not only ensures that the tournament features patrons and players from this leading UK club, located in Windsor Great Park, but attracts prominent players from other key clubs, giving the clubs’s patrons and players a big opportunity to play a competitive tournament. In addition, Guards’ official timekeeper, Gerry Gibson, was in Argentina to present the prizes.


The Guards La Aguada Polo Trophy strengthens the already strong bonds between La Aguada Polo Club and Guards Polo Club. In addition to working closely on this tournament, these two clubs are also partners in the UK, co-hosting the world-class children’s competition, the Guards La Aguada Youth Tournament. This competition brings together the leading polo families from Argentina and England, creating a platform to develop the sport and build lasting friendships.


Guards Polo Club is probably the most famous polo club in the world. Founded in 1955 by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, husband to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Guards Polo Club hosts more than 30 tournament every season, including the 22-goal Queen’s Cup. This is one of the biggest polo competitions in the world, attracting the sport’s top players. Historically HM The Queen attends finals day to present her trophy to the winners, which next year will be played on Sunday 17 June.





Cowdray Vikings: Lila Pearson 0, Alejandro Pistone 3, Ignacio Novillo Astrada 8, Juan Pedro Harriet 4. Total: 15


Escorihuela Gascón: Juan Pablo Georgalos 1, Tomás Alberdi 4, Juan Carlos Harriet 5, Benjamin Araya Jr. 6. Total: 16


Tattleton: Alex Stone 0, Charlie Cadogan 1, Eduardo Novillo Astrada Jr. 8, Santiago Mendivil 5. Total: 14


Whitehall Ranch: Bill Lane 0, Francisco Benoit 2, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8, Facundo Obregon 6. Total: 16




Monday, November 27

9 30am: Tattleton vs. Escorihuela Gascón

5,30pm: Cowdray Vikings vs. Whitehall Ranch


Wednesday, November 29

10am: Cowdray Vikings vs. Escorihuela Gascón

11,15am: Whitehall Ranch vs. Tattleton


Friday, December 1

10am: Cowdray Vikings vs. Tattleton

11,15am: Whitehall Ranch vs. Escorihuela Gascón


Saturday, December 2 – FINALS 

10am, Subsidiary – Cowdray Vikings vs. Tattleton

11,15am Final La Aguada Guards Polo Trophy – Whitehall Ranch vs. Escorihuela Gascón



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.