Las Monjitas defeated La Ensenada by 12 goals to 10 to claim the XIV Julio Novillo Astrada Cup, presented by Río Uruguay Seguros, as part of the HSBC Spring Season. The final was held on Saturday, October 28, at La Aguada Polo Club, in Open Door.

The victory by las Monjitas marks the third time Camilo Bautista’s team wins the principal tournament at La Aguada Polo Club. It is worth remembering that Las Monjitas became Julio Novillo Astrada Cup champions in 2013, when they beat Sainte Mesme 9-5, and also the following year, in 2004, after defeating Los Cocos 10-9.

Las Monjitas were the second team to win the tournament two years in a row (they only other was El Caburé in 2011 and 2012), and they have now become the team with the most Julio Novillo Astrada Cup under their belt.

Las Monjitas: Camilo Bautista 0 (2 goles), Juan Britos 7 (6), Eduardo Novillo Astrada 8 (2), Santiago Cernadas 7 (2). Total: 22
La Ensenada: Ernesto Gutiérrez 0, Jerónimo del Carril 6 (3), Juan Martín Zubía 6 (2), Nic Roldán 8 (4). Total: 20

Score Las Monjitas: (0-1) 2-3, 2-6, 6-7, 8-8, 11-9, 12-10.

BPP chosen by the AACCP: Siempre Maravillosa (River Slaney x Aguada Maravillosa), played by Eduardo Novillo Astrada and bred by Juan Pedro Harriet.
MVP: Juan Martín Zubía.
Fair Play Award: Ernesto Gutiérrez.

Subsidiary Final: El Milagro 10-8 Escorihuela Gascón.

Photo Gallery:
Final Copa Julio Novillo Astrada: Las Monjitas vs La Ensenada

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.