Seven teams up to 18 goals will be playing the opening competition of the Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open), the McLaren Silver Cup.

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open) enters its eighth year under the Patronage of HH Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai.

The 2017 edition will take place at the brand new Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, and many of the top polo players of the world will be there. Among others, Pablo MacDonough, winner of the Triple Crown in Argentina for three consecutive years, with La Dolfina; Guillermo Terrera; Juan Gris Zavaleta; Tito Ruiz Guiñazu; and the biggest news this year is the presence of Nicolás Pieres, who will be playing with Habtoor. Nico, who have been raised to 10-goals in Argentina last December, will become the first of the Pieres brothers to play in Dubai.

Habtoor Polo and Habtoor Wolves will open fire on Saturday, January 12, at 4pm.

The McLaren Silver Cup awards points for the World Polo Tour, in the category WPT Challenge Cup, and the finals are due on Friday February 3.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.