The 2017 edition of the Queen’s Cup Pink Polo took place last weekend at the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club in Pattaya. The contest, created to raise funds for the Queen Sirikit Center for Breast Cancer at Chulalongkorn Hospital, was played in a special week: a women´s polo tournament held In the week of International Women’s Day, which was on Wednesday March 08.

Besides being one of the most traditional events in the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club´s calendar, this year had a special detail as the MVP was renamed as “Sunny Hale” in memoriam of the recent decease of the amazing player.

Regarding the sport, it was the Thai Polo Team who claimed the victory after remaining unbeaten in the 3 matches.

The results of the tournament were as follows:

Pink Panthers 3 vs Windhorse 8
Thai Polo 7 vs B.Grimm 5.5
B.Grimm Polo Team 4.5 vs Windhorse 10
Thai Polo 5 vs Pink Panthers 2
Pink Panthers 6 vs B.Grimm 7.5
Thai Polo 8 vs Windhorse 4

BPP: Trigger, owned by Aron Harilela, played by Sarah Wiseman.
MVP Sunny Hale: Lía Salvo.

Teams in participation:
Thai Polo: Caroline Link/Sao 3, Johanna Monange 0, Carolina Arteta Guerrero 2, Lía Salvo 9. Total: 14.
B.Grimm Polo Team: Lea Sibioni 0, Carolina Brown Zavaleta 2, Melani Mañueco 2, Eva Bruehl 6. Total: 10.
Pink Panthers: Sonia Couling 0, Slaney O’Hanlon 3, Courtney Asdourian 6, Cecilia Cochran 5. Total: 14.
Windhorse: Jennifer Too 3, Abigail Slater 3, Tinny Lim 0, Sarah Wiseman 8. Total: 14.

Queen’s Cup Pink Polo 2017


Asia Polo Club League

Activity at the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club is non-stop during these days. The low-goal Asia Polo Club League saw 4 teams up to 2-goals on the field: Korea Polo Country Club, Thai Polo Club, Thailand Polo Team and Nine Dragons PC.

Thai Polo Team achieved the victory after winning the two games, including an intense final against Korea Polo Country Club.

Results of the two-days tournament were as follows:
Korea Polo Country Club 4 vs Nine Dragons P.C. 1.5
Thai polo 8 vs Thailand Polo Team.
Nine Dragons P.C. 5 vs Thailand polo Team 4
Thai Polo 9 vs Korea Polo Country Club 7.5

MVP: J.B. Lee (Korea Polo Country Club).
BPP: Terere, played by Juan Martin Gallego.

Teams´ line-ups:
Korea Polo Country Club: Hormoz -1, YJ Park 0, JB Lee 1, Tomás Martínez.
Thai Polo Club: Luciano Tattoni -1, Caroline Link 0, Santi Bachmann 1, Juan Martin Gallego 2.
Thailand Polo Team: Sao -1, Melani Mañueco 0, Nu 1, Ead 1.
Nine Dragons PC: Arthur -1, Todd Edward Fortner -1, Windson Rao 0, Rodrigo Bauzada 3.


Stephan’s Chimfunshi Cup

The Stephan Chimfunshi Cup was also held at Thailand´s Club. This tournament has a very special mission carried out by the Chimfunshi Wildlife Orphanage.

The Orphanage, located in north Zambia, was founded by David and Sheila Siddle in 1983 and is one of the most larger and antique chimpance´s sanctuary around the world. Chimfunshi´s mission is to support the orphanage with education, accommodation and feeding for those who work in the sanctuary. The Chimfunshi Wildlife Orphanage is the home of around 120 chimpances.

Four teams up to 8-goals participated of this great event in aid of the animals:

Thai Polo: Andy Harrison -1, Juan Pedro Girou 2, Juan Martín Gallego 2, Manu Cereceda 3. Total: 6.
22BR/Maple Leaf: Claude Haberer 0, Claudia Zeisberger 0, Adrien Le Gallo 3, Pedro Fernández Llorente 5. Total: 8.
Paisano Dragons/La Familia: Ronnie Lim 0, Copita 0, Michael Taylor 3, Nico Pieroni 4. Total: 7.
The Next Level: Melani Mañueco 0, Aron Harilela 1, Damián Marco 2, Juan Jauretche 5. Total: 8.

The title went to 22BR/Maple Leaf and the results of the tournament were the followings:

Thai Polo 4 vs TNL 6
Paisano Dragons/La Familia 4.5 vs 22BR/Maple Leaf 6
22BR/Maple Leaf 5 vs TNL 3
Paisano Dragons/La Familia 8.5 vs Thai Polo 8

MVP: Ronnie Lim.
BPP: Massay, played by Adrien Le Gallo, owned by 22BR.

Last but not least, the Thai Polo Cup 2017 will start next week-end and will mark the end of the busy season at Thai Polo & Equestrian Club.

Teams in participation:

Thai Polo: Luciano Tattoni -1, J.B. Lee 1, Manu Cereceda 3, Michael Taylor 3. Total: 6.
22BR/Macau: GUI Castro -1, Claude Haberer 0, Juan Pedro Girou 2, Pedro F. Llorente 5. Total: 6.
Axus: Brian Xu 0, Germán Suárez 1, Juan Martin Gallego 2, Diego Gómez 3. Total: 6.
TNL/Maple Leaf: Claudia Zeisberger 0, Aron Harilela 1, Damian Marco 2, Adrien Le Gallo 3. Total: 6.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.