UAE Polo Team wins the McLaren Cup

UAE Polo team is the new champion of the McLaren Cup, first trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2017, after defeating Desert Palm by 8.5 goals to 8 in the final held this afternoon the Al Habtoor Polo Resort.


In a very tough and even match, the half goal difference (granted by handicap), was vital for UAE Polo to claim the third trophy in a row.

HH Sheika Maitha team won the Gold Cup in 2016, the Presidents Cup this year at Ghantoot and now the McLaren Cup.


Team made up by Ali Al Merri, Jack Hyde, Matías Benoit and Guillermo Terrera fought hard till the very end against Desert Palm to achieve the victory.


Patron Tarek Albwardy, along with Martín Valent, Alejo Taranco and Santiago Laborde didn´t make things easy to UAE Polo and were really close to take away the game.


In addition to the result, the top scorers of the match also prove how even was the game with Matías Benoit and Guillermo Terrera for UAE and Martín Valent and Santiago Laborde in Desert Palm scoring 3 goals each.


Terrera was the MVP of the match and Jessica, owned by Ghantoot Polo and played by Terrera in the 4th chukker, was the best playing pony.


The top scorer of the McLaren Cup was Alejo Taranco (Desert Palm) with 23 goals and Ali Al Merri (UAE) the patrons top scorer with 4 goals.


Match progression:


UAE Polo: 1.5-1/ 2.5-4/ 3.5-6/ 7.5-6/ 8.5-8


The Masters Cup (14 goals handicap), second trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2017, will start next tuesday 7th february at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort with four teams taking part of the competition.




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.