A packed Campo Argentino de Polo hosted the final stage of the VIII Copa de las Naciones (Nations Cup). The games were split into three categories: juniors, ladies and seniors.

The activity started early in the morning with the juniors final contest between Argentina and Chile; Uruguay and Colombia also particpated in this category.

The juniors final match featured 4 chukkers, the game ended up with Argentina beating Chile 9-4. The fixture was completed with the victory of Uruguay againts Colombia 4-2.

Argentina: Adolfo Cambiaso (n), Juan Guerrero, Facundo Frayssinet and Felipe Dabas.
Chile: León Schwencke, Baltazar Bisquertt, Pedro Letelier and Clemente Silva. Replacements: Cristóbal Huidobro and Matías Echavarri.
Score Argentina: 1-1, 3-1, 6-2, 9-4.

Uruguay: Francisco Bayce, Benjamín Rielli, Juan A. González and Bautista Parodi.
Colombia: Martín de Bedout Graham, Eduardo Nieto Vargas, Diego Vivas Caicedo and Camilo Turriago Saldarriaga.
Score Uruguay: 1-1, 2-1, 4-2, 4-2.

The ladies had their turn on midday together with a very special homage to Sunny Hale. Argentina and USA faced each other in a very balanced match specially in the first four chukkers. Already in the last period, the argentinians scored 3 goals and claimed the trophy.

Argentina: Mía Cambiaso 4, Milagros Fernández Araujo 5 (3: two penalties), Candelaria Fernández Araujo 5 (2), Paola Martínez 8 (2: one penalty). Total: 22.
USA: Maureen Brennan 6 (1), Julia Smith 5 (1), Kristy Waters Outhier 8 (2: one penalty), Tiffany Busch 7. Total: 26.
Score Argentina: 0-1, 1-2, 3-3, 4-4, 7-4.

The awaited moment finally arrived: the test match between Argentina and Uruguay, featuring stars in both sides and young future top players. Argentina line-up had the recent winner of the US Open , Adolfo Cambiaso together with his two nephews Bartolito and Camilo Castagnola; and Uruguay counted with the 10-goals player and champion with La Dolfina, Pelon Stirling.

Despite they only played one practice, the argentinians seamed to have a very fresh performance, with awsome runs from #1 (Camilo Castagnola) always enabled by uncle Adolfito.

Adolfo Cambiaso opened the score followed by Carlos Mariano Alvarez (making his debut in Palermo) who tied the game. From there on, the uruguayans tried to attack their opponents but Argentina showed a solid and superior team, that gave no opportunity and claimed the title by 15 to 6.

Argentina: Camilo Castagnola 3 (5 goals), Juan M. Zubía 6 (3), Bartolomé Castagnola (h) 5 (1), Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (6: one penalty, one corner). Total: 24.
Uruguay: Carlos Mariano Álvarez 1 (1), Juan Curbelo 6, David Stirling (h) 10 (4), Alejo Taranco 7 (1 penalty). Total: 24.
Score Argentina: 3-1, 4-1, 6-2, 11-2, 13-3, 15-6.

Umpires: Daniel Boudou y Marcelo López Vargas.
Third man: Guillermo Villanueva (h).


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.