Zürich International Polo Ladies Cup

18 years of female champions

On Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 July, Polo Park and Country Club Zürich will host its 18th International Ladies Cup. Seven women’s teams from across the globe will fight for the title of 10 goal Ladies Cup Champions. This year’s tournament will be dedicated to the late Sunny Hale, in honour of her heroic rise through the polo ranks, to become one of the greatest polo professionals of her generation.

From the times of Claire Tomlinson having to masquerade as a man to play in the Oxford University Polo Team to 2017, the rise in Ladies polo has been nothing short of dramatic. Today, a growing number of well-known female players are gracing the world’s polo grounds, making headlines and inspiring other women to have a go. The Zürich event is known for attracting the brightest and best of the polo world and this year will be no different. The recent winner of the Most Outstanding Lady Player at the annual Polo Awards, Hazel Jackson, will be in attendance alongside a selection of female greats from across the world, who will gather at the Swiss Club for a weekend of fun, sun and great polo.
The Club organises approximately 14 tournaments a year and hosts chukkas and practice matches daily, on their three fields. The clubhouse has recently undergone a transformation, making it one of the most welcoming and up to date clubhouses in the world creating a great space to enjoy some world-class polo. Hospitality tickets in the Diamond Lounge include extensive catering, Champagne Jacquart, Feldschlösschen beer corners, a Nespresso lounge and even a Toni & Guy hair and beauty salon.
The first match of the tournament is at 3pm on Saturday 8 July, with the Final of the Challenge League at 11.30am on Sunday 9 July. The Final of the Medium Goal will be at 1pm the same day, followed by the prize-giving, luncheon and all-important After Party with DJ DaZZla.
Diamond Lounge tickets for this one-of-a-kind event begin at 180,00 CHF (approximately £144) all-inclusive and can be purchased by contacting the Club here. For more information, please visit the Club’s website here.
The 18th Zürich International Ladies Polo Cup Teams:
Medium Goal Teams:
Nespresso (8): Beate Pfister Leibold (2), Ulrike Gabrin (2), Maile Hölty (2) & Alex Plenz (2)
Champagne Jacquart (9): Morgan Van Overbroek (1), Laura Fass (2), Lucia Podesta (3) & Irene Gräff (2)
Challenge League Teams:
Les Jolies Filles (3): Sibylle Grass (0), Sarah Bond (0), Aline Haerry (1) & Viviane Sauter (2)
San Francisco de Asis (1): Simone Burckhard (0), Isabelle Rösch (0), Belen Podesta (0) & Laura Vuille (1)
HATO (2): Vera Kubik/Anja Würmli (0), Natalie Weibel (0), Franka Vonholdt (1) & Cornelia Häufele (1)
Polo Park Zürich (0): Cristina de Mendieta (0), Verena Tinkler (0), Susanna Jahn (0) & Danijela Grgic (0)
La Tana Polo (1): Anouk Marazzi (0), Kira Wetzel (1), Larissa Ehrbar (0) & Eliana Bleuer (0)
Photograph: The 2016 Zürich International Ladies Polo Cup teams. Courtesy of Polo Park & Country Club Zürich 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.