The year 2017 comes to an end after leaving a wealth of happenings. Below are our top ten most outstanding moments of the year:

-Valiente win US Triple Crown: Bob Jornayvaz put together a very powerful team, made up of Adolfo Cambiaso, Diego Cavanagh and Matías Torres Zavaleta. Together the four players claimed the CV Whitney Cup, the USPA Gold Cup and the prestigious US Open. In the latter, they beat Orchard Hill in the final thanks to a golden goal by Cavanagh in extra time. To finish the year off in true style, Bob Jornayvaz won both the San Jorge and Jockey Club Opens in Argentina. He won the San Jorge on Palermo’s number one ground alongside Cambiaso, Stirling and Cavanagh. A few weeks later he was victorious in the Jockey Club with Cambiaso, Mac Donough and Nero.

-Dubai continues to grow: The emirate is becoming one of the most dynamic polo destinations of the world. The location continues attracting the best polo players on the planet. The unique Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club hosts the Gold Cup Series on its three first-class fields.

-Eduardo Novillo Astrada elected AAP President: After intense political campaigns from both sides, the La Aguada player was elected President of the AAP. He was not able to play in any Triple Crown matches. His administration is set to modernise polo and do things differently.

-King Power claim UK Gold Cup for a third year: The Thai organisation did not have a good Queen’s Cup campaign, but they still managed to shine in the Gold Cup, where Facundo and Gonzalito Pieres came through to win their third consecutive Gold Cup. Top Srivaddhanaprabha, Hugo Taylor and Jimbo Fewster were on the winning squad. The down side is that the organisation announced they would not be taking part in the 2018 high goal season. However, King Power will be the main sponsors of Cowdray Park Polo Club.

-Mariano Aguerre entered US Hall of Fame: The 25 de Mayo local reached another milestone in his career becoming the fourth Argentine player to enter the Hall of Fame. After 30 years with White Birch and an array of titles, Aguerre has surely proved his worth. The other Argentines to enter the Hall of Fame have been Gonzalo Tanoira, Gonzalo Pieres and Juancarlitos Harriott.

-Argentina win FIP WPC Sydney 2017: Thirty years after the first FIP World Cup, Argentina managed to claim the title one again (fifth time in total). The championship took place in Sydney, where Argentine beat Chile in the final thanks to a golden goal by Lucio Fernández Ocampo.

-La Dolfina win Open for a fifth year in a row: Cambiaso, Stirling, Mac Donough and Nero continue to smash records and leave their mark on the history of polo winning their fifth consecutive Argentine Open. The title was the sixth for the current team and the eleventh for the La Dolfina organisation.

-Alegría proved to be the third team in the Argentine high goal: The year was marked by Lucas Monteverde’s absence, and his replacement by Facundo Sola. It as a bright season for Fred Mannix’s team as they managed to beat La Dolfina in Hurlingham; they became the only other team besides Ellerstina to beat the Cañuelas champions. Alegria came very close to winning the Hurlingham Open, and they played a thrilling semifinal against Ellerstina in the Open, where the victory just slipped through their fingertips. Unfortunately, the team will not continue next year.

-La Dolfina Brava become champions of first Women’s Open Championship: The tournament saw the best women in the world compete. In a historic final on Palermo’s number two ground, Nina Clarkin, Mía Cambiaso and sisters Milagros and Candelaria Fernández Araujo beat Ellerstina to claim the title.

-Cuartetera clones have another great year: 09 was chosen as the best Argentine Polo product in the final of the US Open; 05 was BPP of the Tortugas Open final; and 05 was awarded the Lady Susan Townley Cup and was chosen as best Argentine Polo product of the Argentine Open final. A historic occasion.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.