2018 Helmet Regulation Change

New rules are in force now!

As of 1 January this year, the amended HPA regulation regarding polo helmets has come into force, so if you haven’t been to the shops yet, quick – get out there now!

The official statement from the HPA is below:

“From 1 January 2018, helmets must be type approved to the standard PAS015:2011 with CE mark (type approval must be performed by a UK headquartered Noted Body for Personal Protective Equipment), SNELL E2001, VG1 01.040 2014-12, or UTAC/CRITT 04/2015.

Please note, there is a new standard, BSEN1384:2017, which has just been published. Our policy is to follow the BHA helmet standards.”

The HPA has provided this link to view the BHA Helmet Regulations. The list of approved helmets is below.

Manufacturer Model Standard
Armis Armis PAS015:2011 and VG1 01.040-2014
Charles Owen Palermo Polo PAS015:2011 and VG1 01.040-2014
Charles Owen Polo Edition PAS015:2011 and VG1 01.040-2014
Charles Owen Young Rider Polo PAS015:2011 and VG1 01.040-2014
GPA Speed Air/X2 UTAC/CRITT 04/2015
Instinct Polo Instinct Polo Helmet PAS015:2011
Casablanca NEU TBC
La Martina TBC TBC

Polo Times will be looking into the new helmet regulations and why they’re so important with Armis’ creator and designer Robin Spicer in the next issue. If you’ve haven’t subscribed yet, click here to subscribe now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.