Adolfo Cambiaso & La Dolfina solidify position in Argentine sporting history

The 125th Argentine Open Championship, the most prestigious polo tournament in the world, came to an end on Sunday at Palermo, in Buenos Aires. As has been the case since 2013, La Dolfina thwarted their opponents to take the coveted title. Despite many people thought this wasn’t their strongest season, the Cañuelas based foursome showed their unrivalled power and skill in all of its glory to win the Cup. Cambiaso, Stirling, Mac Donough and Nero came outs fighting and showed exactly why they are the active players with the most titles in the Argentine Open.


However, the match did not get off to the best start for them, as Las Monjitas worked hard to take control. As a result La Dolfina found themselves 6-3 down after two chukkas. But from that point on, everything changed. Cambiaso found the inspiration he needed and became the driving player behind all areas of play, not just in attack, where he scored a total of 12 goals. Beyond Cambiaso’s talent, La Dolfina played well as a team, and was able to keep Las Monjitas at bay for the remaining chukkas.


What La Dolfina has achieved is historic, and on Sunday they proved that they are still standing tall in the polo hall of fame. Not much more can be said about Cambiaso, only that he has won 15 titles at Palermo, nearing the 20 won by Juancarlitos Harriott. Pelon Stirling has won 7 and is the non-Argentine with most titles in the tournament’s history. Pablo Mac Donough and Juan Martín Nero both boast 9 titles, all of which they won playing together (2 for Ellerstina and 7 for La Dolfina).


This La Dolfina team has won 7 titles at Palermo since they came together in 2011. All that is left is to give thanks that we are able to witness history in the making, and that we have the privilege to see these superstars in their prime. Adolfo Cambiaso and La Dolfina have become part of Argentine sporting history.



La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (12 goals, 7 penalties, and 1 from a knock-in), Pelon Stirling 10 (2), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (3, 1 penalty), Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 40.

Las Monjitas: Facundo Sola 9 (2 goals, 1 corner), Hilario Ulloa 10, Sapo Caset 10 (10 goals, 4 penalties), Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 37.

Score La Dolfina: 2-3, 3-6, 6-6, 9-6, 11-8, 14-9, 15-10, 17-12.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva Jr & José I. Araya.               

Referee: Jason Dixon.

Gonzalo Heguy award to the MVP of the final: Adolfo Cambiaso.

BPP by the Argentine Breeders Association: Dolfina B09 Cuartetera Clon 9 (Genetic Lambada/Sportivo). Played by Adolfo Cambiaso.

Lady Susan Townley Cup: Dolfina B09 Cuartetera Clon 9 (Genetic Lambada/Sportivo). Played by Adolfo Cambiaso.

‘Fomento Equino’ Cup to the best mounted player of the final: Adolfo Cambiaso.

Javier Novillo Astrada award to the top scorer of the championship: Sapo Caset (45 goals).

Top Scorer of the Triple Crown: Sapo Caset (85 goals).

Gonzalo Tanoira award to the best mounted player of the championship: Facundo Pieres.

Fair Play Award of the championship: Juan Martín Nero.





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.