The group stages of the Joe Barry Memorial came to an end on Sunday, after five matches. The tournament is the second of the 20-goal season at International Polo Club, Wellington, Florida. The games saw teams qualify for both the main and subsidiary semifinals. However, a tie in one of the groups meant that a penalty shoot out on Monday morning determined the fate of the remaining teams.


Tonkawa and Travieso went head to head for a place in the semifinals. Jeff Hildebrand’s team went into the match with an unbeaten record, after beating Grand Champions and Coca-Cola. Travieso, on the other hand, had suffered a recent defeat against La Indiana, but they still held chances of advancing in the tournament.

The match got off to an even start, and that rhythm continued throughout the six chukkas. Once again, Travieso’s Sebastian Merlos, top scorer of the tournament, worked hard for his team, but Sapo Caset and Julián de Lusarreta managed to keep their defence solid enough for Tonkawa to claim the win and qualify for the semifinals.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand A (1 goal), Sterling Giannico 3 (5), Sapo Caset 10 (5), Julián de Lusarreta 7 (1).
Travieso: Teo Calle 1 (1), Tony Calle 3, Sebastián Merlos 9 (8), Tomás García del Río 7 (1).
Score Tonkawa: 3-2, 4-5, 7-6, 9-7, 11-10, 12-10.


Like Tonkawa, Villa del Lago/Modere went into their match with an enviable unbeaten status. Goose Creek, however, had to defeat their rivals in order to get a look into the penalty shootouts. When Goose Creek managed to turn the tough game in their favour in the fifth, claiming a two goal advantage, it seemed as if the team could do it after all. But two goals from Hilario Ulloa and one from Agustín Obregon in the sixth squashed any hopes Maureen Brennan’s team had of winning the match. The victory gave Villa del Lago/Modere a golden ticket to the semifinals.

Villa del Lago/Modere: Jim Zenni A, Agustín Obregon 5 (4 goals), Hilario Ulloa 10 (5), Jared Zenni 5 (3).
Goose Creek: Maureen Brennan 1, Peke González 5 (2), Mariano González 7 (8), Matías Magrini 7 (1).
Score Villa del Lago/Modere: 3-1, 6-4, 6-6, 8-7, 9-11, 12-11.


Colorado needed a win in order to qualify for the penalty shootouts, and Postage Stamp were looking to claim their first victory after two defeats. While the first half of the match was favourable for Rob Jornayvaz’s team, the six goals Postage Stamp claimed in the fourth (two goals from Annabelle Gundlach, two goals from Brandon Phillips and two goals from Kris Kampsen) over Colorado’s single conversion, sealed the deal.

Postage Stamp: Annabelle Gundlach A (2 goals), Brandon Phillips 5 (4), Mariano Aguerre 9 (2), Kris Kampsen 6 (5).
Colorado: Rob Jornayvaz 1 (2), Santino Magrini 3 (2), Diego Cavanagh 9 (6), Juan Britos 7 (1).
Score Postage Stamp: 0-3, 3-4, 5-6, 11-7, 12-8, 13-11.

PILOT 15-12 GRAND CHAMPIONS (Isla Carroll East)

The match saw two teams craving a win battle it out. On Curtis Pilot’s team, Facundo Pieres shone, scoring seven goals in the first half, and three more in the second. By half time Pilot had secured an advantage too big for Grant Ganzi’s team to conquer.

Pilot: Curtis Pilot A, Timmy Dutta 1 (3 goals), Gonzalito Pieres 9 (2), Facundo Pieres 10 (10).
Grand Champions: Grant Ganzi 2, Juancito Bollini 4 (1), Nico Pieres 8 (5), Mike Azzaro 6 (6).
Score Pilot: 2-1, 5-3, 10-5, 12-5, 15-9, 15-12.

COCA COLA 11-6 SD FARMS (Sunday Polo, Field 1, IPC)

The most important match of the day, under the spotlight of Sunday Polo, was played on IPC’s new and improved main stage. Coca-Cola had got better throughout the tournament, but the team needed a win in order to qualify for the penalty shootouts. With the support of Argentine coach Miguel Novillo Astrada, Gillian Johnston’s team gave their best performance yet and managed to claim the win. Then, on Monday, they beat Travieso in the penalty shootout to qualify for the semifinals. They now face Villa del Lago/Modere on Wednesday.

Coca Cola: Gillian Johnston 2 (1 goal), Sugar Erskine 6 (6), Julio Arellano 8 (1), Steve Krueger 4 (3).
SD Farms: Sayyu Dantata 2 (1), Adam Snow 5, Iñaki Laprida 7 (1), Peco Polledo 6 (4).
Score Coca Cola: 3-0, 4-2, 5-3, 7-4, 9-5, 11-6.
MVP: Steve Krueger.
BPP: Popsy, played by Sugar Erskine.

After Monday’s penalty shootouts, the semifinals of the Joe Barry Memorial are set as follows:
Wednesday, January 24:
12pm: Villa del Lago/Modere vs Coca-Cola
3pm: Tonkawa vs La Indiana
BOBBY BARRY CUP (Subsidiary)
Thursday, January 25:
12pm: Postage Stamp vs Pilot
3pm: Travieso vs Goose Creek

Picture Galleries:
Tonkawa vs Travieso
Villa del Lago/Modere vs Goose Creek
Postage Stamp vs Colorado
Pilot vs Grand Champions
Coca-Cola vs Travieso

All matches will be streamed live on Pololine TV via

Joe Barry Memorial Cup: Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.