La Dolfina Reign Supreme

Sixth consecutive win in Argentine Open

In the Final of The 125th Argentine Open on Sunday 16 December, La Dolfina once again reigned supreme, taking home a 17-12 win against first time finalists, Las Monjitas. This win marks the sixth consecutive win for the La Dolfina team with the same line-up and a twelfth victory for the La Dolfina organisation in The Argentine Open. Furthermore, in the earlier match of the day, La Dolfina Brava, featuring women’s world-number-one, Brit Nina Clarkin, secured the II Women’s Argentine Open title, in a narrow 9-8 victory over El Overo Z7 UAE.

This year’s tournament has been marked with countless weather delays, date changes, multiple yellow cards and surprise victories, as Las Monjitas defeated Ellerstina in the Semi Finals, who have met La Dolfina 11 times out of the past 13 Open Finals, ringing a refreshing change to the Palermo tournament.
A full report from this year’s Argentine Open Finals will feature in the next issue of Polo Times, so make sure your subscription is up to date here.
The 125th Argentine Open Final Teams:
La Dolfina (40): Pablo Mac Donough (40), David ‘Pelón’ Stirling (10), Adolfo Cambiaso (10) & Juan Martín Nero (40)
Las Monjitas (37): Facundo Sola (9), Hilario Ulloas (10), Guillermo ‘Sapo’ Caset (10) & Santiago Toccalino (8)
The II Women’s Argentine Open Final Teams:
La Dolfina Brava (31): Mía Cambiaso (6), Milagros Fernández Araujo (7), Nina Clarkin (10) & Candelaria Fernández Araujo (8)
El Overo Z7 UAE (32): Clara Cassino (7), Hazel Jackson-Gaona (9), Lía Salvo (9) & Sarah Wiseman (7)
Photograph: The La Dolfina organisation secured not one, but both of The Argentine Open titles on Sunday 16 December. Courtesy of the AAP


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.