La Dolfina win Tortugas for a sixth year in a row

On a full house matchday at Tortugas Country Club, the Tortugas Open Championship, first leg of the Argentine Triple Crown, came to an end on Sunday. The match was played on field 7 where La Dolfina faced Ellerstina.


The team from Cañuelas was looking for their sixth consecutive title in Tortugas, while Ellerstina was trying to get back the championship won in 2012 for the last time. But Cambiaso’s team took advantage of the key moments, was more accurate at the small details (like penalties and safety penalties) and set up the win thanks to a goal by Pelon Stirling with a minute to go in the last chukker.



La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (4 goals), Pelon Stirling 10 (5), Pablo Mac Donough 10, Juan Martín Nero 10 (2). Total: 40.

Ellerstina: Polito Pieres 10 (2 goals), Gonzalo Pieres 10 (4), Nicolás Pieres 10, Facundo Pieres 10 (2). Total: 40.

Score La Dolfina: 3-0, 3-1, 5-2, 5-4, 9-6, 9-7, 11-9.

MVP: Pelon Stirling.

BPP by the AAP: Bárbara. Player: Adolfo Cambiaso.

BPP by the Argentine Breeders Association: Open Léxica. Player: Gonzalo Pieres.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva (h) and José I. Araya.               Third man: Gastón Lucero.


The Argentine Triple Crown will resume on Tuesday with the kickoff of the Hurlingham Open, which will see a total of 10 teams in participation, divided in two zones. The final is scheduled for Saturday, November 3rd.


TORTUGAS OPEN: Fixture & Teams




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.