Zedan Polo Team is the new champion of the Mc Laren Cup, the first trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2018, 18-goals handicap competition, after defeating Bin Drai Polo in the final by 9 goals to 8.5 this afternoon at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.

It was an exciting final day with a perfect ending for a great tournament. Zedan achieved another trophy, and it ́s the fourth title in a row in the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series, after winning the Gold Cup in 2015 and 2017 and the Silver Cup in 2016 and 2018.

Pablo Mac Donough, ten goaler La Dolfina superstar, once again was the hero after scoring a 30-yard penalty in the last action of the final to give Zedan the victory. A worked up triumph against Bin Drai who fought really hard and had their chances to win the game.

The talent of Mac Donough to twist a match that with 38 seconds to go was almost lost and to score the winning goal from the 30 yards made the difference.

MVP: Rauli Laplacette

A big applause for Bin Drai who played a great match, with Raúl Laplacette as the MVP and top scorer of the final with 5 goals and also his horse Cruzeiro awarded as the Best Playing Pony.

Zedan (18): Amr Zedan 0, Martin Gandara 5, Tomas Panelo 3, Pablo Mac Donough 10.

Bin Drai (17): Khalid Bin Drai 0, Andres Laplacette 4, Matias Torres Zavaleta 7, Rauli Laplacette 6.

Progression  Zedan- 1-2.5/ 6-2.5/ 6-4.5/ 6-7.5/ 9-8.5

Before the final of the McLaren Cup, Habtoor Polo Team defeated UAE Polo by 11 goals to 8 to win the Hildon Cup. Bautista Urbina (Habtoor) and Polito Pieres (UAE) were the top scorers of the match with 5 goals each.

Match Progression
Habtoor Polo- 
3-0/ 7-2/ 8-5/ 9-7/ 11-8

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.