By Our Sports Reporter
IMPHAL, Nov 2 : Tekcham Polo Club (TPC), MPSC-C and Imphal Riding Club-A (IRC-A) made themselves into the last 16 round of the ongoing 35th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament organised under the aegis of Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association at Imphal Pologround.
The first match of the day saw MPSC-C dominate right from the onset to notch up an emphatic 17-3 victory against Meiraba Polo Club, Khuyathong as S Abungcha chipped in 8 goals alone.

MPSC-C led the first chukker 6-2 as S Abungcha and Th Ranjit scored two goals each while M Jawan and Viking Salam scored a goal apiece. Meiraba Polo Club on the other hand made two goals, one each by Longjam Dhaneshwor and Mocha Laishram.
S Arunkumar, Th Ranjit and S Abungcha then scored a goal each turn by turn to make it 9-2 till the end of second chukker. S Abungcha highlighted his riding and scoring skill by adding twice in the third chukker adding to his tally while Kh Dinesh managed one goal  after an own goal by Meiraba Polo Club to make it 13-2 as Meiraba Polo Club’s search for more goal remained elusive.
S Abungcha scored three goals in the last chukker to wrap up the game in style. The chukker also witnessed his compatriot Th Ranjit find a goal while Lukhoi Laishram scored a goal for the losing team making the scoreline read 17-3 at the end.
In the second match, TPC saw off Eastern Students’ Club-B (ESC-B), Nongmeibung 4-1 in a low scoring encounter.
TPC started the game on a bright note and led the first chukker 3-0 as M Kuber Singh, M Manihar and M Doren scored a goal apiece before S Sadananda extended the lead to 4-0 in the second chukker. The team however drew blank in the last two chukker as the tempo of the games decreased but the scores made till halfway was more than enough for the TPC as ESC-B could muster a single through M Naoba Singh in the third chukker.

Elsewhere in the last match, N Alex and L Rohit led the scoring to help IRC-A knock out Chingkheihunba Polo Club-C 11-2.
L Rohit scored twice for IRC-A including the opener in the first chukker while S Dollar and Umesh Gurung added a goal each.
The chukker also saw IRC-A conceded an own goal before Y Nepo converted a chance to make it 2-4 at the end of the first chukker.
N Ranjan and L Rohit added a goal each in the second chukker to help IRC-A race past 6-2 and N Alex struck twice in the third chukker to make it 8-2 till the end of the third chukker.
N Alex continued his fine form and added twice in the last chukker before Umesh Gurung rounded off the scoring with a fine goal.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.