Manipur Tourism has announced the fourth Manipur Statehood Day Women’s Polo Tournament which will be played at Mapal Kangjeibung Polo Ground in Imphal, Manipur, India, January 17-21, 2019. Six women’s polo teams will compete in a field league tournament organized by Manipur Tourism along with the All Manipur Polo Association, and produced by Polo Yatra, the Indian women’s polo initiative of Huntre! Equine. Steve Armour, Somi Roy and Ed Armstrong created the event and have organized five American players to represent the United States in India. “Our committee along with Cindy Halle sought players who were willing and were rated either zero or one goal who could take the time to make the trip,” shared Armstrong. “We talked to dozens of players around the country and came up with what we think will be a great team.”

This year’s edition of the tournament will feature teams from the United States, Canada, Argentina, Kenya, the Indian Polo Association and Manipur. Travel support for the international teams will be provided by Incredible India and all teams will be outfitted by U.S. Polo Assn.

Team USPA's Stephanie Massey competes in Manipur in 2017. ©Manipur Photography Club.
Team USPA’s Stephanie Massey. ©Manipur Photography Club.

“We are very proud to be the presenting sponsor of the only international women’s polo tournament in India in the birthplace of modern polo,” said Ms. Nidhi Kesarwani, Secretary (Tourism), Government of Manipur. “The Government of Manipur initiated this tournament and the final match on Manipur’s Statehood Day is a tribute to the women polo players of Manipur. The event has grown in scale and participation since its inception in 2016 and now draws tourists from all over the world to Manipur as a polo tourism destination of India,” she added.

The event is sponsored by the Indian Ministry of Tourism and Manipur Tourism with all of the team’s game jerseys and staff apparel provided by USPA Global Licensing and Arvind Mills, the Indian licensee of the U.S. Polo Assn. brand.

The USPA would like to congratulate Cindy Halle, Megan Judge, Carolyn Stimmel, Anna Winslow Palacios and Stephanie Massey Colburn on being selected to represent the United States in India in this esteemed event.

Team USPA’s Stephanie Massey competes in Manipur in 2017. ©Manipur Photography Club.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.