Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw

Guards High Goal is underway

On 4 May, the draw for The Cartier Queen’s Cup took place at Guards Polo Club. 12 teams will take part in this year’s tournament, with 2018 champions La Indiana returning to defend their title. There are several other familiar names taking to the pristine Guards fields in the form of 2018 finalists Park Place, 2011 winners Talandracas and 2018 Cartier Trophy (Subsidiary Final) winners Emlor. Furthermore, Rashid Albwardy will be returning with his Dubai team looking for a seventh win alongside a second team from the Middle East in the form of HH Sheika Maitha’s UAE. High goal regulars VS King Power will also be returning alongside Monterosso and Hilali Noordeen’s Casa La Vista Ibiza. Also to return to Guards this season will be Corinne Ricard’s Murus Sanctus and Jean François Decaux’s La Bamba de Areco. The final team on the list is a new name to UK high goal polo. David Paradice’s Scone Polo will be making use of two England stalwarts, James Beim and James Harper alongside Argentine powerhouse Nico Pieres, so this is a team to watch.
Play gets underway on Tuesday 21 May, with the Final scheduled to take place on Sunday 16 June.
The draw is as follows:
Group One:
La Indiana (22): Michael Bickford (1), Facundo Pieres (10), James ‘Jimbo’ Fewster (3) & Rodrigo Andrade (8)
Murus Sanctus (22): Corinne Ricard (0), Facundo Sola (7), Gonzalito Pieres (9) & Tommy Beresford (6)
Emlor (22): Spencer McCarthy (0), Agustín Merlos (8), Fred Mannix Jnr (7) & Alfredo Bigatti (7)
Scone (21): David Paradice (0), James Beim (6), James Harper (6) & Nicolás Pieres (9)
Dubai (22): Rashid Albwardi (2), Camilo Castagnola (6), Bartolito Castagnola (6) & Nachi Du Plessis (8)
VS King Power (22): Top Srivaddhanaprabha (0), Juan Martín Zubía (6), Polito Pieres (9) & Marcos di Paola (7)
Group Two:
Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Hilario Ulloa (10), Juan Britos (7) & Byron Watson (5)
UAE (22): HH Sheika Maitha (0), Guillermo ‘Sapo’ Caset (9), Santiago Toccalino (7) & Cacu Araya (6)
La Bamba de Areco (22): Jean François Decaux (0), David ‘Pelón’ Stirling (9), Juan Martín Nero (10) & Kian Hall (3)
Casa La Vista Ibiza (22): Hilali Noordeen (0), Pablo Mac Donough (10), Min Podestá (6) & Isidro Strada (6)
Monterosso (22): Alessandro Bazzoni (0), Cubi Toccalino (8), Joaquín Pittaluga (7) & Juan Gris Zavaleta (7)
Talandracas (22): Hugues Carmignac (0), Francisco Elizalde (8), Alejandro Muzzio (7) & Julián ‘Negro’ de Lusarreta (7)
Photograph: The Cartier Queen’s Cup draw took place on 4 May. By ©

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.