Cowdray ready to host British Open Gold Cup

Ten teams have entered the 2019 Gold Cup at Cowdray Park Polo Club, with only one new squad joining the competition this season. It is the first time in many years that Adolfo Cambiaso will not be seen playing the high goal at Cowdray Park. However, several exceptional young players will be take to the field to fight for the trophy.

New to the Gold Cup will be Queen’s Cup winner Scone, team led by Australian patron David Paradice. Here Nico Pieres takes the number 3 position, accompanied by James Beim at 2 and James Harper at back. Beim and Harper played, and won, the 2018 Gold Cup togather while representing El Remanso.

Seven teams return from the last season to fight for this Gold Cup. Amongst them are finalists La Bamba de Areco, led by Jean Francois Decaux. This year he brings in young Brit Kian Hall to play alongside Pelon Stirling and 10 goaler Juan Martin Nero. La Indiana, semifinalists in 2018, sees patron Michael Bickford introduce young English player Jimbo Fewster to his team, playing alongside Rodrigo Andrade and 10 goaler Facundo Pieres. Corinne Ricard brings back Murus Sanctus with Facundo Sola and Gonzalito Pieres.

Park Place returns with patron Andrey Borodin playing at number 1, Juan Britos at 2 and 10 goaler Hillario Ulloa at 3. Park Place have already got off to a good start this season, qualifying for the final of the Queen’s Cup. Spencer McCarthy retains Tincho Merlos in his Emlor side and brings in Alfredo Bigatti and Fred Mannix, both playing off 7 goals. Alessandro Bazzoni is joined in his Monterosso side by Juan Gris Zavaleta, Cubi Toccalino and Joaquin Pittaluga. Edouard Carmignac brings back an unchanged Talandracas team with Fran Elizalde, Ale Muzzio and Julian de Lusarreta.    

Returning after a year absence is VS King Power, with Top Srivaddhanaprabha at the front door, Juan Martin Zubia at 2, Polito Pieres at 3 and Marcos di Paola at back. Returning after an absence of several years is the Albwardy family’s Dubai side, with Rashid Albwardy joined by the young talent of brothers Camilo and Bartolomé Castagnola, and a former popular young player at Cowdray: South African Nachi du Plessis.

The tournament gets underway on June 25th; the quarterfinals are set for the weekend of July 13 and 14th, while the semis are set for July 17th. The final will be played on Sunday, July 21st.

The Gold Cup kicks off as follows: 

Tuesday, June 25th:

2pm: Monterosso vs La Indiana

4pm: Murus Sanctus vs VS King Power


Emlor: Spencer McCarthy 0, Agustin Merlos 8, Alfredo Bigatti 7, Fred Mannix 7.

La Bamba de Areco: Jean-Francois Decaux 0, Kian Hall 3, David Stirling 9, Juan Martin Nero 10.

Murus Sanctus: Corinne Ricard 0, Facundo Sola 7, Gonzalito Pieres 9, Mín Podestá 6.

Park Place: Andrey Borodin 0, Juan Britos 7, Hilario Ulloa 10, Benjamín Urquiza 5.

VS King Power: Top Srivaddhanaprabha 0, Juan Martin Zubia 6, Polito Pieres 9, Marcos Di Paola 7.


Scone Polo: David Paradice 0, James Beim 7, Nico Pieres 9, James Harper 6.

Monterosso: Alessandro Bazzoni 0, Juan Gris Zavaleta 7, Cubi Toccalino 8, Joaquín Pittaluga 7.

Talandracas: Hugues Carmignac 0, Francisco Elizalde 8, Julian de Lusarreta 7, Alejandro Muzzio 7.

La Indiana: Michael Bickford 1, Jimbo Fewster 3, Rodrigo Andrade 8, Facundo Pieres 10.

Dubai: Rashid Albwardy 1, Camilo Castagnola 5, Bartolomé Castagnola 6, Nachi du Plessis 8.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.