Ellerstina qualifies for Argentine Open final

The remaining finalist of the 126° Argentine Open, the most important polo tournament in the world, was unveiled on Sunday after the match where Ellerstina beat Las Monjitas 11 goals to 10 at Palermo’s ground 1. The championship sees ten teams compete; La Dolfina is the highest handicapped team, boasting 40-goals. This year they are playing for their seventh consecutive title. 

Lots of people showed up in Palermo for this big clash and the teams didn’t disappoint. The match was really emotional and really even. Only once in the entire game Ellerstina took a two-goal advantage, but very quickly Las Monjitas made a comeback and cut the difference again. Still, they didn’t have time enough to set up one last goal attempt.

Thus, the Pieres’ family team reached once again the final day of the Argentine Open after a couple of years since in 2018 they lost in the semifinal against Las Monjitas. Ellerstina will be looking next Saturday for its seventh title in Palermo- The previous ones were in 1994 (Triple Crown winners), 1997, 1998, 2008, 2010 (Triple Crown winners) and 2012.


1)La Dolfina: 750 Points (4 PJ) (70 GF).

2)Ellerstina: 750 Points (4 PJ) (53 GF).

3)LD Polo Ranch: 450 Points (4 PJ) (55 GF).

4)Las Monjitas: 450 Points (4 PJ) (54 GF).

5)La Natividad: 300 Points (4 PJ) (44 GF).

6)La Albertina: 150 Points (4 PJ) (44 GF).

7)La Aguada: 150 Points (4 PJ) (43 GF).

8)La Ensenada: 150 Points (4 PJ) (39 GF).*

9)La Irenita: 150 Points (4 PJ) (36 GF).**

10)Cría Yatay: 0 Points (4 PJ) (42 GF).**

*Will play a play-off against the winner of the Camara de Diputados Cup.

**Will have to play the qualification in 2020.


Ellerstina Johor: Facundo Pieres 10 (5 goals, 2 penalties), Gonzalo Pieres 9 (2), Pablo Pieres 10 (2), Nicolás Pieres 10 (2). Total: 39

Las Monjitas: Facundo Sola 9 (3 goals), Hilario Ulloa 10, Guillermo Caset 10 (7 penalties), Santiago Toccalino 9. Total: 38.

Score Ellerstina: 2-2, 3-3, 4-5, 6-5, 8-7, 9-8, 10-9, 11-10.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero and Guillermo Villanueva.      Third man: Martín Pascual.

Best Polo Argentino of the Match: Open Biznieta (Ellerstina Pícaro and Open Nieta). Played by Nicolás Pieres.

Nomination 1: Irenita Negra Sosa (Irenita Lunático and Irenita Quena). Played by Hilario Ulloa.

Nomination 2: Open Huracanada (Open Cabernet and Open Katrina). Played by Facundo Pieres.

The Argentine Open will come to an end next Saturday:

5pm: Ellerstina vs La Dolfina*

ARGENTINE OPEN: Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.