Gauntlet of Polo: USPA announces teams for second edition

The United States Polo Association (USPA) has released the list of teams set to compete in the second edition of the famed Gauntlet of Polo. The series is set to kick off on February 1, with the CV Whitney Cup, and will conclude on April 19, with the final of the US Open Polo Championship. 

This series, previously referred to as the American Triple Crown, presents a total of one million dollars in prize money to the team that claims all three titles. In 2019, the first edition, Pilot (Curtis Pilot, Matías González, Gonzalo Pieres and Facundo Pieres) won all three titles and were awarded the grand prize.

The Gauntlet of Polo will be played at International Polo Club Palm Beach, in Wellington, United States of America. 


*C.V. WHITNEY CUP ($125,000 Purse): February 1-23

The C.V. Whitney Cup was first competed for in 1979 by handicap and played in conjunction with the U.S. Open Polo Championship®. In 2019, Pilot defeated Las Monjitas 13-6 in the only single elimination tournament of the Gauntlet of Polo.

*USPA GOLD CUP ($125,000 Purse): February 22 – March 22

The USPA Gold Cup was established in 1974 at Oak Brook Polo Club in Oak Brook, Illinois, and in its first edition featured four teams. In 2019, Pilot outscored Aspen 12-11 in a thrilling overtime chukker with Facundo Pieres making the winning goal.

*U.S. OPEN POLO CHAMPIONSHIP ($250,000 Purse): March 21 – April 19

The most prestigious polo tournament in the United States, the U.S. Open Polo Championship is the apex of GAUNTLET OF POLO competition, attracting fans and polo enthusiasts from across the country and around the world. In 2019, Pilot beat Las Monjitas 12-7 and took home the inaugural GAUNTLET OF POLO Trophy and $1,000,000 in prize money.




Daily Racing Form 

Dutta Corp 


La Indiana

Las Monjitas

Old Hickory Bourbon 

Park Place 



Postage Stamp Farm 

Santa Clara 


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.