La Dolfina claimed the Hurlingham Open after four years

The 126th. Hurlingham Open came to an end on Saturday November 9, with the final held on ground one at Palermo. And the most remarkable issue is that La Dolfina captured the title that Ellerstina won for the last three consecutive seasons. Despite the final result (16-13), the all-Pieres team paid a high price after the first two chukkas, when La Dolfina took an impressive 6-2 lead.

It is worth to notice the good conditions of the main ground at Palermo, which was not the ideal in the 2018 Argentine Open and more recently during the San Jorge Open and the Jockey Club Open. So it was a pleasant surprise to see how well it was prepared thoroughout these two months with no polo at all at the Cathedral.

With regards to the match itself, La Dolfina seemed to have found the level they used to have a few years ago, mainly because in 2018 they didn’t displayed their usual dominance. However, and despite Ellerstina showed their skills, the Cañuelas-based foursome took advantage of a lineup that haven’t changed for the last nine years, with four players who fit to perfection in their positions.

Therefore, La Dolfina extended their winning streak within the top worldwide scenario – following their victory on Saturday, they already have no less than 29 consecutive wins at Palermo. The last time they lost at the Cathedral was the final of the 2012 Argentine Open.


La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (3 goals, 1 penalty), Pelon Stirling 10 (1), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (5), Juan Martín Nero 10 (7, 5 penalties). Total: 40.

Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10 (3 penalties), Gonzalo Pieres 9 (4), Polito Pieres 10 (3), Nicolás Pieres 10 (3, 1 penalty). Total: 39.

Score La Dolfina: 4-2, 6-2, 7-3, 8-5, 10-7, 12-9, 15-12, 16-13.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva & Gastón Lucero.         Third man: Martín Pascual.

Javier Novillo Astrada MVP Award: Juan Martín Nero.

Fair Play Award: Gonzalo Pieres.

Top Scorer of the Tournament: Sapo Caset, 33 goals.

BPP by the Argentine Breeders Association: Open Candy Kiss (Ellerstina Pícaro x Candy N Filly). Played by Facundo Pieres.

Daniel Kearney Cup (BPP by the Hurlingham Club): Más Claudia (Open Poncho x Losmachitos Maradona). Played by Adolfo Cambiaso.

BPP by the AAP: Dolfina Cuartetera B04 Clon (Genetics Lambada/Sportivo). Played by Juan Martín Nero.

The Triple Crown in Argentina will continue next Friday at 5pm, when the clash between La Dolfina and Ellerstina resumes in the final of the Tortugas Open, due at Tortugas Country Club’s field 7. The match has been postponed with 4,45 mins of play in the first chukka, with La Dolfina leading 2-0.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.